My Reviews (262)

Zucchini, Carrot and Yoghurt Muffins

I tried finding a recipe to get my picky toddler to eat her vegetables. Since I couldn't find a healthy one, I came up with this. Using one cup of carrots and one cup of zucchini is a nice way to get both the yellow and green veggies into the diet! Any type of nuts, sultanas, etc. may be used in the recipe -- whatever is on hand and toddler approved.
Reviews (262)


Comment:
10 May 2010
Used different ingredients. used 3/4 cup oats in place of oat flour, used 70g ground almonds, omitted applesauce, and they turned out amazing. oh and used peanut oil in place of vegetable oil as i like the nutty flavour!
 
Comment:
22 Jan 2013
These muffins are fantastic. I didn't have any pecans (some omitted them) or oat flour (used a bit of oat bran and more wholemeal flower instead) but otherwise followed the recipe as is. They rose beautifully to a light and (very) moreish muffin. Thanks very much for sharing this.
 
20 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: CARINAB
Thank you for the kind reviews. As user Baked noted, this recipe does have too much sugar. It should be half the amount listed in the recipe - 1/2 cup. Not sure how that happened as I didn't submit it that way. It seems the part about draining the zucchini was left out as well. The mix can be too wet if the zuchinni isn't drained.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: CYNTHIACOFFEY
I made changes to make them healthier and my picky son STILL gobbled them up. I upped the veggies and applesauce, added flax seed, lowered the oil, omitted the white sugar altogether. Also, if you don't have oat flour, just toss plain oatmeal into the blender and voila! oat flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2007
Reviewed by: Sarah Amber Stoltz
Whoa! very moist! I used only whole wheat flour and oats (didn't have oat flour) and I added 1/2 cup ground flax seed. I didn't put in any sugar, only the honey. Oh, and I didn't have applesauce so I crushed some pineapple. It would have been fine without any applesauce or pineapple all together. Didn't use raisins, just walnuts. These smell so amazing and they really taste great! Got the thumbs up from family. Thanks for the recipe :D
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Cookies
I followed the recipe. The only changes I made was that I cut the sugar back to 1/2C. and I used Vanilla yogurt. You must remove the excess liquid from the zucchini. To do this easily and remove alot of it's juice, just put the shredded zucchini into a potato ricer and squeeze. (You'll be amazed how much a potato ricer can squeeze out!) Also, if you want a nice dome top for this muffin or any quick breads, heat oven to a HOT 450' oven, put muffins in and immediately reduce Temp to what the recipe states, in this case 400' for 18min. I think these muffins are really good. I left out the nuts as I don't like crunch in my muffins! THX
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: LILNOVA
this recipe works even when you replace the ingredients. i use only half the oil and the remainder in flaxmeal, quick rolled oats instead of oat flour, egg whites instead of eggs, nonfat yogurt instead of regular fat yogurt and stevia & splenda instead of plain sugar. everyone who tried my "healthier" version really liked them! (this revised recipe comes out to 160 calories and 5.25 grams of fat per muffin).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: marylou
Loved this recipe. I did this as 2 loaves instead of muffins (reduce heat to 350 and cook for 45-50 minutes.) I also substituted brown sugar for white, used all applesauce and no oil, used all carrots and substituted ginger for the nutmeg. Turned out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2007
These turned out to be some of the most beautiful, tasty, and healthful muffins I've ever baked! I prepared them as directed with one small adjustment, well, two actually: I didn't have enough honey, so I added real maple syrup to the honey, and I didn't want to use refined sugar, so I used @ 2/3 c. of sucanat. Oh, and I almost forgot - I didn't have oat flour, so I substituted oat bran. They rose like no muffin I've baked before, have a wonderful taste and texture. I will be using this recipe quite a bit, although I think I may try to go a step further and omit the oil altogether, substituting applesauce. Oh, and by the way, I also added 2T wheat germ and 2T ground flax seed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Linda M.
Great Muffin! I changed things up a bit. I upped the wheat flour to 1 cup, and reduced the all-purpose flour to 3/4 cup. I also added 1/2 cup of soy flour to add some protein. I used oatmeal that I put in the blender because I didn't have any oat flour and that worked great. I also did not add the cup of sugar and only went with the 3/4 cup honey (I'd rather have honey than white sugar). Lastly, I didn't have any yogurt, so I used sour cream. The muffins came out moist, and really tasty. I don't like muffins too sweet, so these were perfect! Thanks for the recipe and all the suggestions!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes