My Reviews (12)

Creamy Mixed Vegetable Soup

This soup is packed full of veggies like parsnip, cauliflower and mushrooms and also pear, beans and dill. Great combinations and even better the next day.
Reviews (12)


17 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: JettJaguar
Very hearty, filling soup, and there was plenty left over for lunch the next day. But next time I make this I'll be leaving out the pear, it added an odd sweetness that didn't meld well with the other flavours. I'd also like to find a substitute for wine, as I'm no good at cooking with it. Makes a good mid-week dinner with some crusty bread.
 
Comment:
19 May 2010
walkerbout said:
Made it healthier. added barley
 
08 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Marie C.
Absolutely brilliant combination of ingredients!!! I did not see how this recipe might work but it does, and it is outstanding. The wine brings everything together. The soup has so much depth with the sage, pear, shallots and hint of ginger. The only changes I made were 2 cloves of garlic instead of 3 and evaporated milk in place of the cream. Evaporated milk imparts the same texture and taste without all the fat and calories. This makes 4 servings not 6. The soup would do best with a garnish if served to company as it is not very pretty. The flavor more than makes up for the color. Thank you Simone for a fabulous recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: MEDFORD63
This was really delicious! The ingredient list is long, but the cooking part is easy. I didn't have fresh herbs, so I used 1 tsp dill weed and 1 tsp thyme. I also skipped the parsnip because they didn't have any at the store. I served this over rice, which made for an extremely hearty and comforting dish. At the table, I sprinkled crushed red pepper flakes on top, because I like spice on everything and because I'm just weird like that.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Caroline C
I pretty much just eyeballed the ingredients (more garlic, less ginger etc), and I omitted the pear as the ones at the store were rock hard and kinda sorry looking. I used my immersion stick blender to puree, and had to use chicken broth to thin the soup out a little. I intended to have it for lunch the next day but I couldn't stop eating it. Delicious and hearty! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Jess
This is an unusual but wonderful recipe! At first glance the ingredient list seems bizarre, but it actually turned out to be one of the most delicious soups I have ever made. My husband raved about it for days afterward. It is definitely restaurant quality. A keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: babybunnies
I would declare myself a fabulous cook if this soup were my creation out of leftover vegetables. But I'm not sure this was worth all the work. All the peeling and chopping did not result in the "Holy Wow" I was expecting; it was average at best. I had to convince myself to like it to finish eating. The recipe is great if you have these leftover ingredients, but I won't make this soup again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: CathyO
This is my new favorite winter soup. I followed the recipe exactly as written and I left the flavors meld for a day as suggested. I served the soup to two different groups on two separate days. Everyone loved it. Try this recipe. You'll love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: susiekew
This soup was delicious, a combination of ingredients that are unusual together. I used an unoaked chardonnay, as I dislike the woody taste of regular chardonnay. I also used vegetable broth (organic) so that all of us could eat the same soup. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. My younger daughter thought it was a little bland, but everyone else liked it. It is nowhere near 6 servings, though, and the serving size should be adjusted. I will make this again for myself for lunches, and add some croutons on the top for crunch. This time I added a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkle of paprika, as it is not too beautiful looking (although it is beautiful tasting). Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: rachycez
I was excited to make this as it sounded like it'd be tasty and different, but was really disappointed. All I could taste was the wine. Maybe I overcooked the veggies or didn't reduce it enough. Either way, I didn't care for this, but my husband loved it! So maybe the flavor's just not for everyone. I told him the only way I'd ever eat it again was if HE made it and left out the wine - ha! Definitely recommend doubling the recipe if you're making this as a main course for 4. Croutons are also a must.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes