My Reviews (1,672)

Delicious Barbecue Chicken

The unusual combination of common ingredients in this chicken marinade is fabulous! Everyone who tastes it asks me to share the recipe. You will love it and the many compliments you get - I promise!
Reviews (1672)


23 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: Desoostie
So delicious. I seared the chicken halves and then cooked them off in the oven for about 10 minutes. So moist, tender and tasty.
 
26 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Sandy
First let me say, that I always find it less than amusing when someone changes an ingredient (or several) in a recipe and then remarks the dish was not as good as expected. That said, I did change some of the ingredients in this recipe ONLY because I had chicken breasts on their last legs (so to speak) defrosted in the fridge and I had to cook them last night. So I went ahead and made the marinade but substituted lime and lemon juice with margarita mix. What can I say? It's the only citrus I had available! But my, oh my, what a fantastic result! My husband raved about this chicken all night long and again today. I was only able to marinate it for a few hours, and I used the broiler instead of the grill, but the results were still spectacular. Wonderful flavor and very tender! I think the key is to cook them only the amount of time required and not a minute longer. I also reserved some of the marinade before soaking the breasts, so when they came out of the broiler I placed them immediately into the sauce. Oh my word. Heavenly. I mean, this is likely going to be the only marinade I use for chicken breasts for some time to come. Can't wait to try it with the actual lime and lemon juice! Now, I'm wondering how this would work with shrimp...or pork...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: WATTYZ
OMG! Received this recipe from an internet friend and absolutely loved it! Only change I did was I used 2 tbsp whole grain mustard, and 1 tbsp dijon mustard, then used hand blender to smooth out marinade some. Cubed chicken and poured half marinade in bag with chicken and the other half in another bag to put in the freezer for future use and marinaded for 8 hours. Skewered chicken/green pepper/onion/pineapple and grilled on each side (4 sides) 2 minutes each, basting with a little left over marinade left out of the bags. It was wonderful! I'll be making this all summer! TY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: kristen m
It was really good. I like this kind of marinade. When I throw stuff together on my own, I find that I use many of these same ingredients- mmm. I didn't have time to marinate and grill but I put the marinade (made a 1/2 recipe) in a glass baking dish with the chicken (sliced up 2 boneless breasts to make cutlets) and baked at 350 until done. I do that often in place of grilling chicken- the meat soaks up so much of the tasty marinade that way, and it's so fast.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Crystal S
Wonderful marinade. Key to this recipe is to use fresh squeezed lemon and lime juice. Concentrated juices tend to overpower the other flavors. Recipe calls for 6-8 minutes of cooking time per side ~ please note if this doesn't seem long enough for you, the citrus in the marinate makes the chicken cook faster. Do not overcook as your chicken will turn rubbery. Wonderful chicken to add to salads! New favorite in our home! Thanks Letsgggo for the submission.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: MADFORGOLD
I have made this several times due to the continuing requests from my son. Although this is awsome on the charcoal grill, I use this to marinate boneless/skinless chicken brests and then put them on the George Foreman.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Jillian
This is an awesome marinade! The brown sugar makes a big difference. I used the same amount of marinade for 3 chicken breasts that I pounded down thin used 3 tablespoons of olive oil vs. 6 and used dijon mustard instead of course ground. I left the chicken in the marinade overnight. The chicken soaked almost all of it up. It smelled delicious coming off the grill and tasted even better. This is a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: KPITTS1
Loved these! Followed the recipe exactly and the results were very tasty. Juicy, with just a touch of mellow sweetness and a bite of flavor. I think this chicken would make a great chicken sandwich with swiss and honey mustard. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: FlamingJune
I've used this marinade twice so far - once with grilled chicken kabobs, and once on grilled chicken breasts. It is indeed a very good marinade, but it doesn't magically transform chicken breasts. I highly recommend this recipe if you are looking for a good basic marinade. I do not recommend this recipe if you are looking to astound your guests with your culinary genius (ha).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: ~TAYLOR~
Absolutely delicious. I was a bit put off by the smell of the vinegar while preparing the marinade, but it added a nice tang to the end flavor. Used Jack Daniels Honey Dijon Mustard, added Lawry's Seasoned Salt, Crushed Red Pepper Flakes and upped the garlic to 4 cloves. I also used Canola Oil, and I think you could eliminate the Lemon Juice. Definitely marinate for the full 8 hours. Will make this again and again. Thanks, Ruthie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes