My Reviews (85)

Thai Ginger Chicken with Rice (Gai Pad King)

My family loved ordering this dish at our local Thai restaurant, but then they closed down for some unknown reason (they were always busy). So I decided to recreate this traditional dish at home. My husband says it's just like the restaurant...maybe even better? Please note that some people like to eat the ginger, while others don't but like the flavour it gives. You can easily double this recipe to serve a larger group...plus it makes great leftovers.
Reviews (85)


07 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: fader
I don't need to try this recipe to know its right, just wanted to offer some more advice. Try to ensure you buy the freshest ginger you can find, this way it will not be stringy and you will find it very tender and pleasant to eat. We often put in so much ginger it is around 50% of the dish. Both fish sauce and oyster sauce vary greatly from brand to brand, it is worth visiting a chinese supermarket instead of using the brands available in most supermarkets.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Gwen on the West Coast
Loved this dish. I did change just a couple of things: (1) for vegetables I used one red bell pepper, one yellow bell pepper, snow peas, green onions, and mushrooms; (2) I used extra oyster sauce instead of fish sauce; (3) I did not use extra salt; (4) I cooked the rice separately; (5) I reduced the fresh ginger substantially - ginger is not a subtle flavor and would be too strong if one really used 1/2 a cup. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: BigQ
I thought this was a great ginger chicken recipe. The only change I made was to double both the fish sauce and the oyster sauce after giving it a taste test. Other than that, it was spot on and the family loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2012
Reviewed by: annekj
We've been eating Thai out a lot lately. I decided to try some at home. This was a great choice. I did not use the full amount of ginger because I did not have that much. I didn't measure it, but I think I added 2-3 tablespoons. A full 1/2 cup would have been overpowering. I, also, did not add the bell pepper because we do not care for them. The chili paste I used was some I got from the Asian market, so I don't know if it was Thai. We really enjoyed the results. It was pretty quick to make and would be great for a weeknight meal. Next time, I may add more vegetables like carrots and broccoli.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: ranchwife
This dish tasted just like the Pad King I get at our local Thai restaurant - it was amazing! I used beef instead of chicken, about 1/4 c ginger, doubled the oyster sauce and fish sauce, and used about 1 tsp Thai roasted red chili paste. The fresh cilantro adds a nice depth to the dish. The entire dish was wonderful! I will absolutely be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: EKSATTLER
Only thing wrong with this recipe is there's never enough leftovers! I double it now to keep the hubby happy. I use a little less red bell pepper than called for and used Thai Red Curry paste rather than the chili paste (just what I had in the fridge) The prep is time consuming, but well worth the end result. Can't recommend it enough!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Stephanie S. Payne
WOW! This is one of the best Thai recipes on this website. I've tried plenty, and it's been so difficult to find something that I would eat again. As you can tell, we loved this. Here are the changes we made: -1/3 cup of ginger: be sure to cut it small enough -added one green pepper -doubled the fish sauce, oyster sauce, chili paste, and added a bit more sugar to compensate Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2010
Reviewed by: Dave W.
I was looking for a pad thai recipe and liked the combination of ingredients in this one, but made a few substitutions. Instead of using Jasmine rice, I used half of a 227 gram pkg of rice pad thai noodles soaked in hot water for about 10 minutes or until soft. I tossed the noodles and a couple of fistfuls of mung bean sprouts in the wok, at the same time as the vegetables. I couldn't find Thai red chile paste, so I used Thai red curry paste which provided a nice amount of heat to the dish. With the high amount of sodium in both the fish sauce and the oyster sauce, there was no need to add extra salt, so I omitted it. I didn't have any fresh cilantro, but I did top the plates with some peanuts. Delicious, and I'll definitely make this customized version again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Happ
Very tasty, made it just as is except for the chile paste. I only had chile garlic sauce, so I used that. The fact that there is none left speaks for itself!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Carla
I love the flavors of this dish. I did make a few changes--1. I used 1lb of thinly sliced sirloin instead of chicken which I marinated in a tbsp. of hoisin sauce, a tsp. of oyster sauce, a tsp. of sesame oil and a tbsp. of red wine. 2. I minced the ginger and only used 1/4 cup. 3. Did not add sugar nor salt. 4. Added a diced cayenne and jalapeno from my garden to give it more heat. 5. Added a tsp. of cornstarch to the 2 tbsp. of beef broth (used instead of chicken broth) and chili paste along with a splash of sesame oil. 6. added fresh torn basil last minute of cooking. Just my personal touches/preferences, but I'm sure it would be great as is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes