My Reviews (36)

Satay Chicken Rice Paper Rolls

These rice paper rolls make an excellent entree or light meal. Colourful, crunchy vegetables contrast nicely with the soft, translucent wrapper.
Reviews (36)


16 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Donna in Texas
For those of you unfamiliar with Thai and Vietnamese cuisine, their springrolls are not crispy like Japanese or Chinese springrolls. The meat(if any) is cooked before being rolled in the wrapper. The veggies are normally raw or(rarely) lightly steamed. They're like a little salad in a wrapper. I love them in summer. In Thai cooking springrolls use a rice paper wrapper and is eaten raw, eggrolls use a thin wonton(wheat paper) wrapper and is eaten fried. What may have confused some of you is that the recipe just says springroll wrappers. The chinese ones are wheat and are not meant to be dipped in water but fried. The thai and vietnamese ones are rice, stiff and meant to be softened in water and eaten raw. In my area the package just says rice paper, nothing about springrolls.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: HWESTERF
Very easy to make. Found the spring roll wrappers at the grocery store in the organic foods section--they were a lot easier to use than the clear-ish looking rice paper wrappers from the Asian food aisle. Made these for a lunch for a group of people--got excellent reviews. Very fresh taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Vyfschaft
They were amazing, I followed the recipe almost to a tee. The only thing I did differently is I put everything in the marinate over night, then put them in the wrappers the next day and cooked them in the oven at 350 for 7 minutes. They were delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Amy Pierce
I made these for a dinner party and everyone loved them! I split the marinade in two and used half (pre-cooked, frozen) shrimp and half chicken. I also used arugula instead of watercress (due to availability) - I only needed 5 oz, not a whole pound! I kept everything else the same and prepared it exactly as instructed. I was doubtful it was going to all come together, but they surprised me! Just do what was the recipe says, wrap em tight, and dip away! I made everyone wrap their own for fun:-) Will DEFINITELY make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: NorthernGirl
I love this recipe and have made it many times. Its so versatile! I have added thinly sliced red pepper which looks great too! I use the smallest size of wrapper and find I can make 2 dozen--perfect for appies! Also tastes great with sweet chili thai sauce for dipping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: DreamWriter
These were awesome! I did find that using spring roll wrappers were a little better as they are a little thinner. Someone mentioned that it was odd that these weren't fried. Not all spring rolls are fried, and some places called the unfried ones summer rolls, they aren't made to be crispy as there are crispy components inside the roll. This is also why this recipe is served with peanut sauce, the tradition dipping sauce for the non fried variety.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: JUNETENNANT
I found this to be a really good recipe. I used arugula as suggested by another review. I served them as is without cooking because the recipe doesn't mention cooking! My husband didn't care for them at all. The next day I deep fried the leftovers and he loved them. I will put in less bean sprouts next time as the flavor is stronger after frying. Now I will make big batches and freeze them....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: ROGGALACH
These were delicious! I found it a little strange that the recipe made no mention of frying them at the end. So I made them to see what they'd be like and felt they needed frying or they didn't have that crispyness that spring rolls have! Once I fried them, they were wonderful and very easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: lutzflcat
Used Todd's Famous Thai Peanut Sauce (AR recipe) for the chicken filling and served it on the side as well. Had a lot of the watercress mixture left over, so I'd cut that in half in the future. Recipe said to mix long slices of the carrot into the watercress mixture, but I don't see how that would work for the spring roll filling, so I did a coarse shred on the carrot. Same comment on the bean sprouts, cut them up a bit. Takes a little bit of practice using the rice spring roll wrappers, but although they may not have been pretty, they tasted great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: melanie
Delicous!!! The only thing I left out was the cilantro. These were even good cold the next day. Served them with another viewers peanut sauce. (sal's)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes