My Reviews (52)

Mexican Beef Stew

Mexican flavours such as chilli and cumin influence this easy beef stew. Lard is traditionally used to brown the meat, but olive oil works fine instead.
Reviews (52)


18 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Rhonic86
Love it!! I added a lil extra cumin and jalapeños.... and of course.. just before eating.. adding lime and avocado .... mmm perfecto!
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
TRIPTAKERS said:
Used different ingredients. I used 3 tsp. of ground cumin and 2 large or 3 small garlic cloves, minced. I love this recipe though! Thanks Mike
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: SJURISTY
A true tex-mex recipe If you know what carne guisada is then this is the real thing. if you don't know this is the way to find out!
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: AHOWERTER
my whole family really enjoyed this, I cooked it in the pan like it said and then threw it all together in my slow cooker and went shopping and after a long day we came home to the wonderful aroma and all we had to do was get the plates. How wonderful was that??? only downfall was it wasn't as spicy as I woudl have liked so next time I will add an extra chilli
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: DVDANDV
This is a Really good recipe! I let it simmer for about an hour and a half. But, I'm sure just an hour would be ok : ) my husband and 8 year old really like it when I make this recipe!
 
11 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: BOBBYTEXAS
A true tex-mex recipe If you know what carne guisada is then this is the real mcoy if you don't know this is the way to find out!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: MsMonica
Nahh, this ain't it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: MCAPV96
I used 3 tsp. of ground cumin and 2 x-large or 3 small garlic cloves, minced. Plus I added 1 tsp garlic powder. Also, 1 Green Pablano Chile instead of 2 jalapenos makes this recipe child friendly. I love this recipe though! Thanks Mike
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: BABYACA
my whole family really enjoyed this, I cooked it in the pan like it said and then threw it all together in my crock pot and went Christmas shopping and after a long day we came home to the wonderful aroma and all we had to do was fix our plates. How wonderful was that??? only downfall was it wasn't as spicy as I woudl have liked so next time I will add an extra jalepeno.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: Ashley
Yes, this was unlike any other Carne Guisada I had ever had. Much more tomatoey. But what ever you call it, it is absolutely delicious. I will cook it over and over again. I served it with flour tortillas and it was a huge hit with my family. You must like tomaotes! I omited the shortening and just used Pam cooking spray. After living in South Texas for many years this was a refreshing version of Carne Guisada.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes