My Reviews (686)

Butter Chicken for the Slow Cooker

Indian food is one of my favourites, so when my friend made this slow cooker version for my family we were head over heels! I don't think I've had a Butter Chicken that I've liked more. It's wonderful to put into the slow cooker in the morning and come home to the warm Indian spice smell....LOVE IT! Serve with basmati rice and warm naan bread.
Reviews (686)


Comment:
17 Apr 2011
CraigM said:
Used different ingredients. I couldn't get hold of curry paste or Tandoori Masala so instead I used: 1 teaspoon of Chilli Powder 1 teaspoon of ground cumin 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. Otherwise I followed the original receipe. The result was spot on!
 
25 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: selina76
lOVE IT! I am a punjabi (indian) and this is the best butter chicken ever. I had to add a little extra spices and I add cream instead of coconut milk. However the result was the same. Very easy to prepare.
 
10 May 2012
Reviewed by: Michelleb003
made this last night for my partner and boys. We all loved it. Added half coconut milk and half coconut cream to make it even more naughty. Also had no cardommon pods so used ground cardommon instead. Absolutle perfect and will be on the menu in our home often. Thanks for sharing
 
19 May 2012
Reviewed by: merome
I have cooked this twice and both times there was nothing left in the pot. This recipe is so easy and will never ever fail to please. A definate winner
 
01 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: jpad
Amazing Butter Chicken. I highly recommend making the Tandoori Masala from scratch - its a bit of work but makes enough Masala for approx 10 dishes (buy ground Fenugreek not seeds they are very hard!). The only changes I made were instead of 400 mls of coconut milk I put in 200mls of coconut cream and 200mls of thickened cream. Served it with rice, naan, papadums, greek yoghurt and mango chutney! YUM.
 
22 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: NicoleGiudes
Delicious recipe! Partner and I loved it. I followed the recipe as is, however didn't add the garam masala as I couldn't find any. A lot of easy recipes tend to be a bit bland - but not this one! Partner scored it 5/5
 
17 May 2011
Reviewed by: mizqtie
very yummy, this was very easy to make. I changed a few things my local supermarket had no tandoori masala so i used tikki paste instead and i left out the green cardamom pods as they also didnt have any but a very yummy outcome. My partner has just also suggested next time adding macadamias
 
Comment:
25 Feb 2011
catweasel said:
Made it healthier. Substituted the coconut cream with Carnations skim coconut flavoured evapoarted milk (scary product, actually) but it does make the dish still taste AWESOME, and the original recipe, in all it's happy-fat gloriousness does, this at least makes you feel a little less naughty without missing out on the flavour or feeling like it's been "carboarded". Gooood recipe. Totally saucy and works on all levels. Thumbs WAY up. And a wink too.
 
04 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: debster5
Absolutely beautiful, last time I made it I added cauliflower towards the end for a bit of extra vegetation. Loooove it, the whole family does.
 
02 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Kimbo
This was just great, thank you. I chose to use my pressure cooker instead of slow cooker, took ten minutes on the 'low pressure' setting, giving a wonderful result
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes