My Reviews (49)

Pork in Tomatillo Sauce

I love this Mexican meal of sauted pork with tomatillo sauce. If you cannot get tomatillos, green tomatoes are a good substitute, though not quite the same.
Reviews (49)


13 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: MARIO1
This was really good! Slightly warm but that's how we like 'em. I may have used the wrong dried green chilis....the recipe said "green sauce" but when it all went in the blender, it turned a light red color. One tomato with all the tomatillos was not the cause of the color change, I don't think. Must have been the peppers. This would be good wrapped in flour tortillas or served over white rice. Kids dipped thier chips in the sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2004
Very easy and pretty quick. I used pork tenderloins cut up into medallions for the "chops";worked very well. This made about 1-1/4 cups of THICK and SPICY "chili sauce" (I only used 1 jalapeno and only 2 dried chilis) that would be great mixed in plain rice and beans. We opted to serve just with a salad with creamy dressing (to help put out the fire on our palettes) for a healthy,low-carb dinner. Was too spicy for most young children but, I would make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: Wainy
This is just such an excellent recipe. I had some leftover smoked pork shoulder that I used insead of the pork chops and, being a homesick Texan, I had to add a couple more serranos and a handful of fresh cilantro, but that was. You must try this recipe. Thank you so much Chriszee!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Patty Williams
I used chicken instead of pork and it turned out really good. I made tacos out of it. I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Skizzit
I found this to be a very good recipe but the previous chile con carne that I have had was RED and left your nose dripping with every bite (I know, ew)... So I added about6-7 more red chiles and an extra jalapeno, not seeded, and a chipotle pepper. Excellent recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Claire
This was delicious! I took advice from some of the commenters and used the slow cooker on this one -- 1.5 hours on high and another 5-6 on low. I made a few substitutions with what I had on hand. I only had about 4 tomatillos so I substituted the rest with tomatoes and a roasted anaheim chili. I'm not a fan of seasoning salt, so I just left it out on this one. It was still great! The meat just fell apart in the slow cooker. I would definitely try this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: FOODGU1
I agree that this was very easy, very good and in addition, authentic! Considering that everyone has a different palate, I didn't find this very spicy so next time may leave the Jalapenos seeded.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: KA
This was a super easy recipe and the spicy fans in this house loved it. Just remember to minimize touching the peppers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Impatient Chef
I cooked lean, thick pork chops in the crock pot all day, using two jars of green salsa as my sauce base, since tomatillos-fresh or canned-are unavailable in my part of the world. I used the juice from almost 2 limes and close to two tomatoes. I included only one fresh jalapeno pepper within the sauce, but put out a jar of pickled, sliced jalapenos for people to use in the burrito bar I created from this WONDERFUL recipe. I ommitted the red peppers from the sauce, again making them available elsewhere, to allow diners to choose their own heat level. I separated the meat with a fork when done, mixing it with the sauce. The meat was very flavorful and oh so tender. It was a hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: bcivers
Very good. Perhaps the easiest Mexican Dish you will ever make. I grill the pork first to give a little charcoal flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes