My Reviews (49)

Pork in Tomatillo Sauce

I love this Mexican meal of sauted pork with tomatillo sauce. If you cannot get tomatillos, green tomatoes are a good substitute, though not quite the same.
Reviews (49)


22 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Jennifer
I followed the recipe and advice to cook this in a crockpot. The meat was delicious, but the sauce was very runny. I don't know what I did wrong. Also, some reviewers said this was sweet - my wasn't sweet and I'm not sure where the sweet taste could come from.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Andrea Duncan
Fantastic and authentic! Since my honey likes 'build your own taco' style I cubed the meat - I also added just a touch of water to the veggies at first and then drained it off later to keep them from burning, they then cooked perfectly. We LOVED it! I used Cisneros tomatillos which are HUGE and even with that variable it still turned out excellent. I served the pork w/help yourself condiments of chopped green onion, chopped tomato, guacamole, cilantro & jack and cheddar cheeses.We will have this one often, it was a big hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: Christianne
My whole family loved this recipe, including picky teenager! I left out the red hot peppers, so the "heat" was adjustable for everyone's taste by adding their own red pepper flakes. Next time I will try doubling the sauce recipe because it was good ladled over rice/black beans with cheese on the side.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: JK
Pretty good. I don't think it was necessary to pre-cook the sauce. It came out fine straight from the food processor to the pan. I loved how quick this dish was. That's a plus. I didn't put in all the jalepeno's either... that would have been too hot. Overall pretty good! Thanks for the receipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Windtraveler
Very typical |Mexican dish, though I would strain the chili after blending it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: bookwormans
Not an amazing recipe but still good. The lime taste was a bit overwhelming, so I will probably cut back on the amount of juice next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: cheerevansj
I omitted 2 red peppers, and only used half of the jalapenos. I enjoy spicy things while my husband doesn't. I thought that it was WAY to spicy and had very sour flavor. My husband really liked it though. I also enjoy tomatillos- but this recipe just didn't work for me. My hubby really enjoyed it- he actually asked for me to cook it again. After dumping a bunch of salt on the finished product it tasted better to me... but then I felt guilty for eating it because I was sure my blood pressure would rise Not sure if the tomatillos were bad or what. Prob. will not make again. Thanks for the recipe though. I hope other enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: HBfuninsun
I used a pork roast and a crock pot. I did cook the sauce as directed. I did not add it uncooked as one reviewer suggests. Delicious with tortillas, beans and rice!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: SoccerMom
I had such high hopes for this recipe. I went to the store and bought special ingredients for it and everything. Unfortunately, it did not live up to my expectations. My husband's comment was "What is this? Tomato sauce?" I noticed the sauce got better the longer it simmered (I simmered mine on the stove for a couple of hours), but still was missing something. The meat was tasty though. Oh well, I might try it again, but shred it and use it for tacos or burritos with extras like sour cream and cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Christina
This recipe is excellent. I was asked to make it for my mother-in-law and it went over well. I am going to try it with chicken next!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes