My Reviews (49)

Pork in Tomatillo Sauce

I love this Mexican meal of sauted pork with tomatillo sauce. If you cannot get tomatillos, green tomatoes are a good substitute, though not quite the same.
Reviews (49)


03 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: leahnwells
Very good, pretty easy, and quick. The pork was still a little tough. It would be better if it were cooked longer. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh, more garlic powder, and some onion flakes. Also, I used vegetable oil instead of the pork fat, which was easier and did not seem to change the taste. I used 3 chipotles and no fresh jalepenos, which resulted in hot lips and warm mouths, but no fire breath. Served it with refried beans, rice and warm flour tortillas plus toppings (sour cream, onions, etc.). My husband loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Caroline C
Outstanding! The only change I made was to use a small can of sliced mild jalapenos, and a shake of red pepper flakes (I can't bring myself to prepare fresh chiles since I got chile juice in my eye a few years ago). The tomatillo sauce, though amazingly delicious, was still a little too spicy for me but Husband thought it was just right. I'm going to make this again but with strips of chicken breast. Fantastic recipe! Thanks so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: witchywoman
I am giving this recipe 5 stars because I read the reviews and actually made this with a bit of trepidation. I wasn't sure what to expect. I used tomatillos and jalapenos from my garden, but when I went to go get a tomato, it just wasn't quite ripe enough, so I used part of a can of diced, fire roasted tomatoes instead. I also threw in a tiny orange pepper that I pillaged from the garden, just for variety. I really wasn't sure what to expect. I gave my husband the first plate with a heated flour tortilla and he DEVOURED it! So I took a nibble and this is so freaking good!!! Thanks for submitting this most awesome recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: MMMICHELLE
Fast and easy, a delicious meal. I added one large green bell pepper, in slices, to the pan to simmer with the meat and sauce and it came out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: BARB75
WOW, This is a great recipe. I've made it twice, once for my boyfriend, and once for a dinner party. Everyone loved it, and I'm in southern New Mexico which means we know our mexican food. A native mexican from Sonora raved about it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: Susan Stone
This is a great recipe. I served it in tortillas. The only down-side to this recipe is having to handle the sticky tomatillos.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Destina
Awesome dish!! Everyone loved it! I did some minor changes to the dish, I added cilantro and some onions to the green sauce it was fabulous! Would make this dish again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: peabozzle
This was incredible! I used a pork roast instead, put it all in the crock pot and let it simmer all day. I didn't have the jalepeno or red chile peppers, I chopped a half a green pepper instead, and a small red onion chopped. I also added cumin to the seasoning. After I dished it up, I topped with shredded pepper jack cheese, sour cream, then served with warm tortillas. Absolutely divine! My hubby has asked me to make this every week. Can Do!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: ACG2377
This was delicious, and easy to make on a weeknight. I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of a fresh one. Also did not add the red peppers as we cannot handle too much spice. I think I will add some onion next time to the tomatillo mixture. Served over white rice with cilantro and black beans. Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Olivia Foxfire
Really fast and easy to make. It was too sour for me so I will not make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes