My Reviews (31)

Pasta with Creamy Mushroom and Zucchini Sauce

This is my own invention and so good, healthy and easy that I wanted to share it with someone! It consists of cooked bow tie pasta covered in a creamy mushroom and vegetable sauce. A complete vegetarian meal in one dish. You can use milk or skim milk instead of cream depending on how rich you want the dish to be.
Reviews (31)


27 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Alicia
My husband and I both thought this recipe was delicious. Because I like my pasta saucy, I pureed about half the veggies, making a thick sauce, and chopped the other half. A little extra salt, pepper and parm on top and yumm! It's rich and unique, I never would have thought of it myself. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: EMILIEW
A great recipe! You dont need a food processor. I just chopped everything finely. Parmesan cheese adds more flavour rather than dumping salt into it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2008
Reviewed by: SPICEGIRL2
I felt the sauce was a very creative base or foundation to which to add, making it quite versatile. If it would have called for more seasonings I would have given it a 4. I chose to add fresh ground pepper, garlic salt, a pinch of paprika and a pinch of dry mustard. It was quite tasty. Next time I would saute the veggies with evoo before putting them in the food processor for more depth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
This dish is terribly short on visual appeal, and that's a shame, since we first feast with our eyes. There is just no other way to describe this sauce other than it was a sort of chunky, odd-colored, creamy mush, definitely not something I wanted to photograph. But boy, oh boy, did this TASTE good! Hubs and I both loved it and believe it or not, weird combination as it is, he actually requested that I pack the leftovers in his lunch tomorrow along with his rotisserie chicken sandwich! We just loved the rich, earthy flavor of this, tho' that was helped along with a specialty porcini mushrom orzo blend rather than farfalle. I found the flour to be totally unnecessary and didn't use it. In fact, I even found I wanted to add a little more half-and-half just before serving. Creative idea, tasty and compatible ingredients, and simply delicious, even tho' you'd never expect it from the looks of it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: gapch1026
I grated the zucchini and sliced the onions and mushrooms and added red bell pepper. 2% milk with an added tblsp of butter made this plenty creamy for me. Thyme, salt, and black pepper and a garnish of chives made for a very tasty pasta sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Sassay
A good basic sauce. Could be tweaked a little to give it more "kick" (red pepper?). I pureed all the zucchini and my squash-hating teenager never even knew it was in there; she loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Britt
Good recipe. I had alot more sauce than I wanted on the noodles so I just froze the remainder and used it later for a quick dinner. I also added a half cup of chicken broth to the garlic and vegetables while they were cooking- that added good flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: ericksonpad
I give this a 3, but it has more potential! 10 zucchini is a ton- I used 2 large zucchini and 2 small yellow zucchini instead and it was overflowing in my large skillet. I love chunky veggies, but I chopped everything very fine for this. I would suggest to puree the veggies. But flavor was definitely there, just needs some tweaking! I added garlic salt, pepper, parmesan and served with fresh tomatoes. (That really helped to compliment the mushroom flavor!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: trinitygirl
I added onion and carmelized it first, yellow pepper and parmesan cheese. Need the pepper and cheese to make it more tasty and not as bland. I also used cremini and button mushrooms and only 4 zucchinis. Not bad for a vegetarian dish..
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: NIRTAK99
One of my husbands all time favorites. I slice all of the veges instead of chopping them in the food processor, this makes them more noticable. I only use 1 zuccini and usually try to put in a couple types of mushrooms totaling 1 lb or so (crimini and shitake are both excellent).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes