My Reviews (10)

Lamb Stuffed Zucchini

This recipe is a great way to use up that giant zucchini lurking in your garden. Early season zucchini are best as the skin is tender and the flesh is delicate. Older zucchini still taste great, you just may not be able to eat the skin.
Reviews (10)


12 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: AZDewalt
This is a great recipe, thank you for sharing it! I made it as written the first time and it was wonderful. The second time I decided to tweak the recipe to my tastes a bit more. Like the previous reviewer I omitted the salt (canned tomatoes typically have enough for my tastes) and used fresh mint. I cooked the tomato sauce as advised but added a bit of white wine and garlic. For the stuffing, rather than cook the meat and rice in the oven I added oil to the sauté pan with garlic, onion, and uncooked rice. This gives the rice a head start on cooking and a lot more flavor. I sautéed all until everything browned a bit and added the lamb which I sautéed until cooked. I used a slotted spoon to remove the mixture and stuff into the zucchini to reduce some of the grease. The final cook time for the stuffed zucchini was 30 minutes. My boyfriend indicated this was a “keeper” recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Josee Marchessault
My Husband is Lebanese so I was a bit intimidated to try this recipe...how can I compete with his mother? well, I am happy to report that I passed with flying colors. here is what I customized: I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon; I used lean ground beef instead of lamb; i sauteed the onion, and then added the rice to the pan, to give a bit more flavor. I added a splash of white wine. i added fresh mint instead of dried, because it grows like weed in my garden. While it was cooking, the smell alone was enough to make us all salivate, and the end result was spectacular! comfort food at its best! thank you for the great recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: BigShotsMom
This took care of a monster zucchini someone gave me. I made 3 very minor changes. First, I eliminated the salt for dietary reasons and to my taste it wasn't missed. Second, I didn't realize I had no tomato paste until I was well into preparing this so I just cooked the sauce down to thicken it. Third, I used fresh mint instead of dried because I had it on hand. The cinnamon adds a lovely flavor and I think next time I will increase it slightly. Thanks for a tasty dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Jennie Marie Haines
Wow!!!!! Not only was this dish fun to make, but it tasted amazing! The sauce surprised me! This meal is one that I will be making for a very long time. Thank you for sharing. SO GOOD!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: Edith Thornton Cohn
Great recipe! I made a few changes. I only had one zucchini, so instead of stuffing it, I chopped it up & chucked it in the pot. I also didn't have any mint, so I used fresh rosemary & it turned out great! I baked at 350 for 1 hour & this was the right temp & amount for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: Linda
Cooked the sauce for an hour before it got thick. 20 minutes was not long enough. What temperature for the oven? Cooked for an hour at 350 and the rice is still crunchy and the zucchini is hard. Will let you know how it tastes whenever it gets done.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Rochelleme
Delicious! I added a little chevre on top after cooking, yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: Bill
The recipe does not give oven temp - does indicate preheated oven for 60 min. It does not indicate if the ground lamb, rice etc is to be cooked with the onion before stuffing the zucchini. It does not indicate what to do with the zucchini you took out of the shell. Very confusing recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: Jamus
The dish was flavorful , yet the oven temperature was omitted .
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: Harwah
Fabulous! Everyone needs to be eating this!!! I planted 3 zucchini plants this spring just so that I could freeze more zucchini so I can make this later into the winter. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes