My Reviews (86)

Garlic Chicken with Grapes

Grapes, garlic and sesame seeds are baked with the chicken in this unusual recipe. Served with mustard.
Reviews (86)


23 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: JDVMD
We really liked the flavor of this dish. After mixing up the sauce, I couldn't understand why this shouldn't be cooked with the chicken and that is what I did. Just poured on top and then added the sliced grapes before the end of cooking. I am kind of surprised that no on has suggested using a combination of green and red grapes to make the dish more visually pleasing. I did this with good results. Served with brown rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: WALTDOUD
I will admit I was *very* skeptical about the Dijon mustard sauce, as I am not generally a fan of mustard. But this was a most excellent recipe!!! I quartered the grapes (thought the whole grapes wouldn't integrate well at eating time, and I'm glad I did it this way), but other than that, strictly followed the recipe. I don't really understand the comments by those that were disappointed with this recipe, but I guess to each his or her own. I made if for a friend that is on a fat-restricted diet due to MS, and it was a bit hit. Thanks for a great recipe! I have added it to my "repertoire" and will be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: JEBP
If you don't want to use the oven (too hot during the summer where I live for that!), here's a stove-top version: Use the sauce as a marinade (including minced garlic - I used four cloves) for four chicken breasts cut into large pieces (I also added a little oil). After marinating for a couple hours, heat a little oil in a pan, and saute chicken and sauce for 25-30 minutes. Add grapes (which I also halved) ten minutes before serving. Serve with rice. I also used balsamic vinegar, and I omitted the seseame seeds for this version.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: Dale
Had the girls over for a luncheon and I try to find new, interesting recipes. This one fit the bill, they all loved it and asked for the recipe. When combining sauce ingredients, do it over low heat and whisk to blend. I especially liked the flavor of the toasted sesame seeds and the grapes added an extra dimension, except when you reheat it - don't like hot grapes!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: Sean Lowe
I'm sorry. Everyone seems to like this recipe but I hated it. I thought the sauce was terrible. I think it was the vinegar I didn't like. My family liked it though. I served it with white rice and peas. I liked the first few bites then I had to really choke the rest down. After I realized I didn't like the sauce, I tried to add a few more spices (garlic salt, onion powder, oregano, a little of the chicken broth) and a little flour to thicken it up a bit. It was OK at best to me, but as I said, the rest of the family liked it. None of us cared for the cooked grapes, however. Not the worst I've ever had, but I think if I ever make this again I will omit the vinegar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: JKWIGGINS
This recipe turned out great! Following advice from others, I added the sauce 5 minutes before adding the grapes, except I added all of it! It baked in giving a wonderful taste to the chicken. As well, for added texture, I added sliced mushrooms and onions when I flipped the chicken over. My wife and I loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2003
Reviewed by: CINDY WAIT
This recipe is easy, unique, and tasty. I used 6 chicken breasts and 1 cup of quartered grapes. Poured a small amount of sauce on the breasts for the last 5 mins of baking and left the rest to taste. I will definitely make this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: REALTYLJO1
Great twist on Chicken recipes. The grapes sounded somewhat questionable, but I went ahead with them only slicing them in half. Surprise! What a great accompaniment to the nutty chicken. Most definitely use the sauce. It adds that special touch and flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: peweil
We loved it BUT I tweaked a little. Instead of honey I used agave syrup, and I doubled the amount of garlic. I also used rice wine vinegar as it is milder. I cooked the chicken with about one third of the sauce and added the rest with the grapes 5 minutes before the end. I used only skinless, boneless breasts and I found they were done in about 20 minutes at 400.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2003
Reviewed by: CLOVERDALE1
Very Good. I have tried parts aswell as a hole chicken(for company) Teriffic. Will make again. Served this to my inlaws and it was a big hit, my mother inlaw thought I had come up with a great way to serve chicken instead of the same old way
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes