My Reviews (361)

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Easy Pot Roast made in the slow cooker. Exchange the vegetables for variety based on seasonal availability, turnips and parsnip make a great change.
Reviews (361)


03 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: Anne-MarieWoodcock
Used kumara and added corgette. Also tried this with half stock and half coke. Yummy!!
 
26 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: cadmangaz
this went really well, I used a beef roast , turned out spot on. highly recommend.
 
18 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: taitanotpotaita
oml im trying this recipe thanks
 
13 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Tom G
I used this recipe for my first roast and have used it religiously since. My only advice would be to watch your cooking time. My roasts have always been done between 5-6 hours (on low) and they come out very tender. Overall, a very easy and tasteful recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: ROOKIE COOKIE
I did add some garlic powder for flavor. I used beef broth instead of water and bouillon cubes and used more carrot and potatoes than called for (I used small red potatoes cut into half). I also used low sodium mushroom soup. I would like to add that different slow cookers work at different temperatures. I have two slow cookers and one cooks at a MUCH higher temperature on both low and high setting than the other. I would keep this in mind when setting up your cooking times. The lady that wrote this recipe has a cooker that will either be slower or faster than the one you have. As for the finished product.... Mine was outstanding! I let each person added salt and pepper to their own taste after it was cooked... It's much easier to control the amount of salt and pepper at the table than to guess how much it will take when you start cooking. After cooking on low for nine hours, my roast (2.8 pounds) was so tender I could cut it with a fork. Both my wife and I commented how tasty it turned out. This is an easy and very tasty recipe for pot roast and I recommend anyone likes a good pot roast!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: LEE_101
I don't know what some of these people are talking about - this was a great roast! You may want to add some more spices, but that's not rocket science. I added a litte bit of garlic, a sprinkle of garlic salt, ground pepper and extra onion flakes. My boyfriend and I loved it - it was a nice brown color, and the aroma filled the house when I came home. I will be using this recipe over and over.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: shanden27
This is good made as directed, but I felt it needed a little more flavor / complexity. I use a larger roast (5 lbs) rubbed with salt, pepper, garlic, dredged in flour (to thicken the gravy later) and seared in olive oil. For the liquid... beef broth, and I add a few big splashes of red wine (about half a cup). Also put in onion, fresh minced garlic, a couple of rosemary sprigs and a tsp of coriander seeds. Cooked carrots with the roast, but potatoes separately (roasted potatoes, as I don't like everything to taste the same or to be too mushy.) YUMMO!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
This has to be the easiest way to make pot roast. I will brown my meat before placing in the crock pot and the deglaze the pan with the beef broth. After I take all the meat and vegetables out I will thicken the gravy with a little corn starch and water. It is every bit as good as a roast cooked in the oven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: Z
My first time using a slow cooker and this turned out fantastic! I cooked a 2-1/2 lb roast for 5 hours on high, stirring twice to make sure the beef bouillons were mixed in evenly (I used Maggi brand). Beforehand, I made slits in the roast and put in slices of garlic, then browned the roast on all sides before putting it in the slow cooker. I also added a bay leaf, ground pepper and 2/3 cups water and wished I added more because the "juice" was so good! Perfect for soaking up with freshly baked bread!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: LORIODON
This was my first pot roast ever and I was pretty apprehensive... but it turned out great! I prepared it according to the directions with the following modifications: I sliced 3 carrots instead of using baby carrots, replaced the onion with a package of dry onion soup mix, and used 3/4 cup of water instead of 1/2 cup. I cooked it on low for a little over 8 hours. The meat was so tender and so full of flavor. Plus, it passed the ultimate test: my husband loved it and even had seconds! Next time I'm going to add a can of cream of mushroom soup to make a thicker gravy. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes