My Reviews (27)

Whole Orange Muffins

These muffins incorporate a whole orange into the mix - everything but the seeds! They taste amazing with dates, cloves and ginger flavours on top of the orange.
Reviews (27)


20 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: ykraith
This is a great quick recipe that is moist and sweet. The little bits of orange skin become soft and chewy. Ideal if you need to whip something up quickly.
 
01 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Nelleke
Very good. I used only 1/2 cup of sugar, and reduced the cloves to 1/4 tsp and the ginger to 1/2 tsp. They were plenty sweet and browned well with the reduced sugar. Next time I may reduce the ginger a little more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: LMSTERR
These are incredible! I used melted butter or oil instead of solid butter... otherwise I found the batter wasn't moist enough to mix. These smell wonderful in the oven and taste just as good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: STARFLOWER
Wonderful! Healthy, too. Used 1/4 cup dates (blenderized) as I wanted some raisins (1/4 cup, whole, tossed with the flour). Used 1/4 tsp salt, oil instead of butter, and 1/2 tsp each of the spices (just right - don't like too spicy). Done at 15 mins, but prefer the 20 mins as they were more chewy and great muffin crust. Also, used a vegetable peeler to get off the orange part of the rind and threw away the bitter pith (the skins were too thick, I guess). The blender worked well in chopping up big pieces of rind. Thank you for the wonderful recipe - it will be one of my favorites.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: KIMCA
I used between 1/4 cup and 1/2 cup of sugar and cut the ginger and cloves down to 1/2 tsp but wow, these were awesome! Good "helping" recipe for my 2.5 year old too, he loved chucking all the things in the blender. He gave them 2 thumbs up after trying one as well. I'm not a huge date fan so I wasn't sure if I'd like them but the dates get ground up so small that you barely even notice them - delicious! Will definately make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: KUNGFUKAREN
These were great. I used only 1/2 cup of the sugar as I prefer my muffins not to taste like cup cakes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: A. Stratton
I loved this recipe! I'm always on the lookout for healthy, fresh muffin recipes and I was really pleased to find this one with a whole pureed orange in it. I altered the recipe a little to cut down on fat (I doubled the recipe, but used the same amount of butter and added some applesauce to keep it from drying out). I'm sure the original would have been just as scrumptious, but here's what I did for a double recipe: 2 oranges 2 eggs 1/2 cup margarine 1 cup 2% milk 1 cup raisins 3 1/2 cup flour 1 cup sugar 2 tsp baking powder 2 tsp baking soda 1 tsp ginger 1 tsp cloves 3/4 cup applesauce
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: laurabora
I used sour milk instead of butter milk. The cloves were overpowering in this breakfast muffin, and nobody really liked them EXCEPT for my son, who normally hates breakfast muffins, which is why it got a higher rating than what the adults thought. So apparently, picky children love this muffin. Will make again for my son.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: abale
Very tasty! Next time I will decrease the ginger and cloves as one baker recommended. Otherwise, my only comment is that the dough was very thick compared to other muffin recipes, but in the end, they turned out great - even separating from the paper muffin cups once cooled. Also, I replaced the egg with a 'flaxseed egg' (two parts warm water, one part ground flax seeds, blended with the rest of the blended items). Delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: mandymuggins
Really yummy! I added a cup of fresh cranberries and they turned out amazing! The second time I made them I added a tbsp of pumpkin puree along with the cranberries and again they tasted great (although the pumpkin & the orange turned them slightly green!) A really great recipe that I'll be making again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes