My Reviews (138)

Chicken with Pineapple and Olives

This is a northern Spanish dish. Don't be intimidated by the combination of ingredients, the sweet and salty work together perfectly.
Reviews (138)


02 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: LADYJAYPEE
I scaled this recipe in half for just two of us; even so, we'll still have leftovers. I also cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces as others advised. Added about 1/4tsp cayenne pepper, but I would definitely double the cumin-cinnamon seasoning if I were to make this again. Served over steamed brown basmati rice. Thanks for sharing, ChristyJ!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: ZeldaSayre
This was very tasty, but I must admit that I mostly used a different recipe for Chicken Costa Brava that I found in an old cookbook. All of the ingredients are the same, but some of the quantities are different: 2 whole chicken breasts instead of 5, 8 oz of tomatoes instead of 14.5, 1 cup of salsa instead of 1/2 cup, 2 tsp of cornstarch instead of 2 tbsp, and a mixture of black and green olives instead of 2 cups of black. I used a medium-heat salsa, and whole tomatoes that I crushed before adding. I wonder if maybe it was these small differences that kept mine from being "bland," as some people are complaining? Anyway, the fella liked it - the pineapple bits were particularly spicy and tangy and delicious - so next time I'll make it the Allrecipes way and update.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: CYNIGAL
I'll admit that I was very wary of the combination of the ingredients. I was pleasantly surprised, as were my dinner guests. The word to describe this dish is complex. As others have noted, every bite is different, but they work together. It definitely will get the guests talking. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: GRRRRR
This recipe is awesome!! I serve it over white rice. There is a different flavor with every bite and never any leftovers!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2000
Reviewed by: JEANINEGRANT
I added mandarin oranges, green olives, and curry to this wonderful dish. I could've eaten the sauce alone, it was so chuncky and flavorful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: nmchilecat
I am glad my family likes to try different international dishes or I would have never made this wonderful chicken dish! It is so good! I used a whole chicken, and the only complaint was that some of the pieces (like the wings)were hard to pick up and eat because of the great sauce that covers the chicken. I will try boneless breats cut into strips next time I make it, which will probably be very soon!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: CRUISEM
OMG!! This is SOOOO good!! The only changes that I made were to add extra onion (we love them) and leave out the corn starch. Try it ~ You won't be sorry!! Yummy!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: KATYPI
Sweet and spicy! Fantastic flavor combination; even the BF who usually forgoes spicy foods said this was a winner. Earlier suggestions to cut chicken into bite-sized pieces seem to be a good idea, as we liked this over rice and it would've made it a little neater to eat. All in all a delicious meal. Thanks for this submission!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2002
Reviewed by: pamjlee
This was a very attractive dish. I used half the olives and found there were still plenty. The dish does have an unusual flavour but it is still very good. It would be a nice addition to a pot luck.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: AmandaLynne
Wonderful only minor changes i used Italian style stewed tomatoes and I made 3 serving instead of 10. Served it with white rice tried it over the rice and then tossed the rice into the pan to try for 2nds and tossing it was better but its wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes