My Reviews (31)

Bread Base Zucchini Quiche

This is a quick and easy quiche that is very tasty.
Reviews (31)


21 May 2002
This recipe was very good, but I made several changes: I didn't use the bread per earlier reviews that indicated it would get mushy. I also used 1 Tbsp olive oil instead of the butter, used a mixture of zucchini & squash, and added 2 chopped green onions and 3 chopped artichoke hearts to the vegetable saute. I used lowfat cottage cheese, replaced the yogurt with fat-free sour cream, used Eggbeaters instead of the eggs, and added 1 Tbsp parsley to the cottage cheese mixture. Baked at 400 degrees for 30 minutes; it turned out wonderfully! My husband and I almost polished it off just between the two of us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: solemn chef
I have tried this recipe several times and each time, the bread on the bottom of the pan stays mushy. Not a bad flavor, but soft bread doesnt seem to work for a crust.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: Sheri Wilson
After reading several other reviews, I was careful to follow the recipe exactly and stand my bread along the side of pie pan, not the bottom. In this way, I avoided the bread turning mushy. It was toasted nicely, and the cruchiness definitely balanced out the dish. The quiche itself had a nice tangy flavor, although the cottage cheese mixture didn't set as well as a regular quiche. Would make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: FOXHUNTER
In two words - too bland - to suit me. I made it without bread and I added a little bit of carrot and green pepper to the zucchini. Also added a few drops of hot sauce and some onion salt. But it needs something else to liven it up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: ABD297
I'm very pleased with this recipe even making it lower fat. Followed others recommendations and used low carb bread, olive oil in place of butter, added 2 cloves garlic minced, 2 scallions chopped, 1 1/2 t. oregano, 4 egg whites instead of whole eggs, 2T. fresh parsley, 1/2 c. parmesan. I also did mix the veggies with the egg and cheese mixture and then poured into pie plate. I also baked it for 45 minutes cause it was just a little too loose for my liking at 30 minutes. Good job and thanks for posting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: dreechrismom
My husband and I loved this! Others reviewed this as bland, but with a few minor changes/additions, it was very tasty and refreshing. I used 12-grain bread instead of wheat (tastier), 1/2 cup skim milk in place of yogurt, doubled the oregano, added 1 tsp. dried parsley, 1 cup shredded cheddar/mozzarella blend and salt/pepper to taste. Delicious (tasted a bit like pizza, but better)!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: CBUKER
Although this was easy to make, it was not a big hit with my family tastewise.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: dianer
This was really good! Next time I'll make it in a bigger pie plate and add some more zucchini. More Parmesan on the top helps, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2005
Reviewed by: FADEDDREAMS
The changes I made to this recipe were minimal: I added a bit more zucchini, one red pepper and also used parmesan only for sprinkling (mature Cheddar in the quiche itself). Mine set fine, but they did take a bit longer than 30 mins (closer to 45). It even looked very pretty and appetising. However, I found it bland and flubbery, and didn't finish my slice. It tasted of something I couldn't quite put my finger on, but didn't really remind me of quiche. Sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: LCOLCORD
My family loved this recipe. It was low in fat and delicious. Next time I make it, I will probably leave out the bread, and mix the zucchini mixture with the egg mixture before I bake it. Great flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes