My Reviews (53)

Beetroot on the BBQ

I couldn't decide what to do with all the beetroot I had, so I tossed them onto the barbie
Reviews (53)


12 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Dawn Fronius
I have made these for years. I use olive oil instead of butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: TENSMOM
I wasn't sure how to cook beets on the grill, but the foil packet and timing was perfect. I actually had some fancy-schmancy blood-orange infused olive oil a friend had given me, so I sliced the beets in thin circles (and I also sliced a yam to go with it). I placed the beets in a Ziplock and drizzled some of that oil into it, and shook some coarse into it too -- shook it up, and then placed in a foil pouch for the grill. I did the same to the yam, but kept it separate, assuming it would need less time on the grill. The yam was done in 20, the beets in 30. Once off the grill, we combined them together on everyone's plate. To-die for!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: OJAGAJ
This was a good menu addition for vegetables to grill while camping. I did add a bit of sugar to the packs so that it would really caramelize with the butter and add a bit more to the kid appeal factor. Everyone enjoyed them. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Tekagirl
If you like beets, this is a great recipe! Very easy to do, with great results. My husband (a big beet fan) raved. We followed the recipe, just w/ less beets, since we only had 3. I was skeptical about not needing to peel them, but went ahead & just scrubbed 'em well - and there really was no need to peel them. Yum. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Susan Marsh
I do this, altho I use olive oil and throw in some fresh dill...the intensity of the beet flavor is amazing when roasted.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Sharon M.
A nice, easy way to cook beets. Just watch the heat because the can burn easily.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Arlene Unvoas
The timing was off a bit for me but the beets I had may have been a bit larger.The beets I had were about the size of a small orange and they took between 45 and 60 minutes. Make sure you turn them quite often or they tend to burn. I really liked this recipe and I liked that I didn't have to peel them. I will keep this recipe, especially when I go camping.Thanks for sharing this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Sandie
I've made these twice. The only thing I do differently is peel the beets. These really are outstanding, and neither my husband nor I are big beet fans otherwise.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: AuburnLace
I had some left over beets from doing my yearly pickling. They were already cooked so I tossed some XV Olive oil and a table spoon of butter in a frying pan added the beets, let them simmer for a few minutes and tossed in about 1/2 cup of bacon bits, a few more minutes in the pan to meld the flavors together and it was amazing. Even my grand children and husband ate them and NONE of them will eat the pickled beets. Try it you will like it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Joel & Lauren
I used a little butter and a little olive oil and some fresh rosemary. The beets were great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes