My Reviews (1,425)

Slow Cooker Roast Chicken

Roast chicken in a slow cooker for busy people! Put the chicken on in the morning, and have golden brown roast chicken for dinner.
Reviews (1425)


08 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: helsnaps
The first time I cooked this I forgot to turn it down, so it stayed on high for about 9 hours! It was like National Lampoon's Christmas and smelt great but sort of deflated when I put the fork into it. The second time was delicious. The skin was brown and crunchy and the meat just fell off the bone. I used a stuffed chicken from woolies, so didn't wash it but added seasoning. Served it with potato and vege salad. Leftovers were great too.
 
Comment:
14 Sep 2010
Feathers1951 said:
Used different ingredients. I added one onion cut into quarters and some crushed cloves of garlic inside the chicken.
 
Comment:
14 Sep 2010
Feathers1951 said:
 
10 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: matthewbrianoconnell
Best roast chicken Recipe I have ever tasted
 
31 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: wellhamsrus
This recipe worked well - I recommend it for a different way to cook chicken.
 
08 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: Eggkid1
This was our first attempt and it was a bit over cooked. However, it sure beats cleaning the oven!!
 
04 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: mandymoo
Tasty and tender but next time would definitely crisp up in oven
 
08 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: DIANE73162
I made this for the first time today, it was AWSOME! I did make some changes, I used a whole chicken and stuffed the cavity with one onion cut up in quarters and 3 cloves of crushed garlic. I also used poultry seasoning, garlic powder, Mrs. Dash, and paprika to season the chicken with. I used the foil balls, but put 2 cups of chicken broth on the bottom, and put the slow cooker on high for two hours and then turned it on low for 5 hours and it came out Great! It didn't fall off the bone because I didn't want to over cook it, but it was SO tender, I didn't even need a knife to cut it! My kids ate it all, I was hoping for leftovers for chicken salad, but there was none!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: DAWN SHAW
This recipe was simple and it made "fall off the bone" chicken. I used 5 chicken legs (skin removed) and cooked it on low for 9 hours. Instead of using the alluminum foil, I used potatoes (peeled and quartered) and carrots and onions under the chicken in the crock-pot. I added 1/2 c. chicken broth and lots of seasoned salt and pepper, too. The veggies were nice and soft and the flavor of this slow cooking was wonderful and EASY !!! Thanks 'Cotton' !!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: WISESHAY
I used a 4.5 chicken. I rubbed butter all over and then sprinkled it generously with salt, pepper, garlic salt, seasoning salt, paprika and poultry seasoning. I put it on low and cooked it for about 11 hrs while I was at work. When we got home, it smelled wonderful! I used some of the juice from the bottom to drizzle over the chicken. It had a light golden color and looked very good. There was no point trying to pick it up because it fell apart soon as I tried. The meat was very tender and juicy. Only thing I would change is to remove all the skin from the chicken next time before seasoning. The skin slid right off when it fell apart and so, naturally, a lot of the flavoring was gone. The only other thing I may try to different if I leave the skin on is to try and buy those flavor injectors, to get some more of the flavoring down into the meat. Otherwise, outstanding!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes