My Reviews (104)

Microwave Cornbread

This is a simple cornbread that takes five minutes from beginning to end thanks to it being cooked in the microwave. Perfect as a side to a rushed midweek meal.
Reviews (104)


10 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: isobel
I'd never heard of cornbread done in the microwave before so took a chance. Cut the sugar in half and it took a total of six minutes to cook.
 
Comment:
07 Jun 2010
AngieW said:
Hi sylvia, I would like to try this easy recipe on the weekend..would you use the same ingredients if baking in the oven?
 
03 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: lazarela
thankyou for this easy recipe
 
29 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: k.terpstra
I was very skeptical of this... really? cornbread in 5 minutes? but it was GREAT! I added a little more sugar and a little more oil because i like moist cornbread. I put it in for 3 minutes in my microwave (900 watt) and it came out perfect. I'll definitely be making this in the future!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: MOMMYSQUARED
Decided at the last minute to make cornbread with the chili tonight so I came to allrecipes.com to find a recipe......and I found this one. Since it was the first time making it, I didn't change anything. The hubby said it could be sweeter. I eat mine with butter and honey so I didn't notice. Even the kids liked it. I loved how easy and quick it was to make....and in the microwave. I'd never heard of cornbread done in the microwave before. Mine took a total of six minutes to be completely done but even at that.....it's a heck of a lot shorter than in the oven! And great for a last minute add to dinner! You definitely have to try this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: gracie
this has a great texture and consistency! the flavor is that of plain cornbread...which it is! it "saved" our lunch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: mshcooks
My husband said this is the best cornbread he's had in his life, and he's 60. He liked it because it was moist inside, but I found it to be firm as well. It didn't crumble to pieces when I split the slices to butter them. The only changes were that I used 3 Tbsp sugar due to previous reviewers advice, and 1/2 tsp salt because salt enhances other flavors. I used a 9" pie plate with a juice glass in the center to ensure against a soggy middle. I greased the cookware, added the batter, and cooked in a 1200 watt microwave for 3 & 1/2 minutes. I reheated it later for 30 seconds with no discernable change in quality.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Lisa Chase Simon
I'm sorry but we didn't care for this at all. It really did cook up in 3 minutes which was amazing!! But the texture didn't feel right to us and it probably could have used some more sugar (we tend to enjoy sweeter cornbread). I am glad I tried it though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: john
Okay, I finally tried this and much to my surprise, it came out beautiful in 5 minutes and quite tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: M. Stoffel
For microwave anything, this was awesome. It does not have the texture of regular cornbread (well, my kinds) - very light and almost cake-like, not too much cornmeal, touch of sweetness. There is no browning or crust to speak of. It's very delicate and doesn't hold up well to being buttered. However, I thought it tasted great. It was warm and fresh and done in 4 minutes on high (800 watt oven). I made it because I forgot about the bread until I was serving, and because I'm cool like that I know I'll gratefully be making this again. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes