My Reviews (542)

Easy Fresh Tomato Salsa

This is a delicious homemade salsa. Feel free to adjust the amount of chilli to your liking.
Reviews (542)


21 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: glenniskorsman
 
12 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: TRAVELR773
Actually, this is a fantastic salsa. The reason I gave it 3 stars? Because 5 serrano peppers is INSANE and I wanted to make sure others knew that before they prepared this. Not knowing anything about serrano peppers, we lost all sensation in our heads when we ate this salsa for the first time. And believe me, we eat habaneros every day so we know hot. Perhaps you are not supposed to use the seeds, but the recipe doesn't say that. In any event, we have found that 1 and 1/2 serranos is fine when using the whole pepper. If you have something to prove, try 2. :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: dizzygrltoo
This recipe is good. It needs at least 1 large fresh clove of garlic though. Also it is crucial that you get quality ingredients. Tomatoes from the garden are best but romas from the store work well also. I used a hothouse variety from the store the second time I made this and they were mealy. Beware that this salsa makes a lot of liquid in the bowl. If you like it great if not use in a soup or on veggies. THIS RECIPE DOESN'T NEED 5 CHILIS. I USED 1 SERRANO CHILI AND GOT PLENTY OF HEAT FROM THAT. TASTE YOUR SALSA AS YOU ADD CHILIS TO GET A COMFORTABLE HEAT LEVEL. Also, your heat level will go up or down depending on how cold your salsa is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: ELVA4
This recipe also tastes great with a clove of chopped garlic added.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: DESERTDREAMER
This recipe as written is what I have known as pico de gallo. I added 2 Tbsp. tomato paste (use ketchup for sweeter) to make salsa. Excellant as pico or salsa!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: SPETROVICH
Excellent salsa! It is the bomb! I got tons of compliments on it. It's so fresh and AUTHENTIC. Don't forget the salt, though. I forgot the first time and it ended up just being a bowl of chopped tomatoes. This recipe is a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: SUSAN JARRETT
Very good salsa!! I like the chuncky salsa and my husband does not. I put some in the blender and we were both happy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: ALICATS
Excellent!! I used this recipe which was very good. I also used it as a template for my own by changing things to suit my specific tastes and it has opened the new world of homemade salsa. Add the salt last, taste to test before and after, it really brings out the flavors and puts it all together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: TESLAROCKS
Delicious!! I used 2 seeded peppers and it wasn't really spicy at all. Next time I will use all 5. Awesome flavor and very easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: DARLENEFRIEND
I added some diced avacado and my family loves this!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes