My Reviews (689)

Zucchini Rice Casserole

I've been making this casserole for almost 20 years and it's always a hit. Even my meat-eater husband likes it. Serve with a crusty French bread. Leftovers are great for breakfast the next day.
Reviews (689)


18 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: sue12
Love it!
 
26 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: HOGGBOY
Made it 3 times now but added triple the garlic plus chopped bacon (4 slices) and used canned tomatos and instant rice so NO WATER NEEDED=YUM!:
 
10 May 2011
Reviewed by: suelang
Cooked as side dish for 15 adult men - totally demolished!
 
Comment:
10 May 2011
suelang said:
Took shortcuts. Use a family pack of sunrice 2/12 min rice, 1.2kg zucchini and bunch of shallots and serve as a side dish for 12-15 adults.
 
05 May 2010
Reviewed by: Talen
Nice and simple, good taste
 
11 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: austinveggiegirl
I am glad I read the reviews on this recipe before making it, because it may have turned out rather bland otherwise. I added 2 more cloves of garlic, tripled the amount of seasoning (except the salt), only used 1.5 cups of cheese (monterrey jack w/jalapenos is great), and added red bell peppers. I also substituted white rice with instant brown rice, and the veg oil for extra virgin olive oil. Delicious! I make this once every month or two and we never get tired of it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: BETHGINGRICH
This is a big hit with our family and for the company to whom we have served it. I increase the rice to 1/2 cup and cook the rice with one chicken boullion cube; only use 1 tablespoon of the oil (and I use olive oil); I use 1/2 cup of regular chopped onion instead of 1 cup of green onion; I doubled the spices and only used 1/2 cup of sharp cheddar in the casserole and 1/2 cup of sharp cheddar on top. GREAT recipe and a wonderful way to use the vegetables from my garden. You won't be disappointed!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2007
Reviewed by: Debbie Conway
My entire family loved this meal (and I have very picky eaters)! I added 3 pounds cooked shrimp to it. It made a meal rather than a side dish. Add bread & a salad and you have an excellent meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: ELAM4
My husband doesn't believe in dinner without meat, but when he tasted this dish, he exclaimed over it for no less than half an hour! I'm on Weight Watchers, and each serving was only six points! Add a bread stick or two and you have a low-point, complete meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: JDLab
Fabulous recipe! Did as previous reviewers suggested: tripled seasonings (except salt), added 1 more garlic clove and a few shakes of garlic powder, upped rice to 1/2 cup (used brown rice), added 1/2 of a red pepper, chopped. Also added 1 chopped up jalepeno brat, which I cooked with the zucchini & onions. Used sharp cheddar cheese. Family LOVED it! Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes