My Reviews (33)

Brown Rice and Orange Salad

This recipe calls for orange in both the salad and in the dressing which also includes honey and balsamic vinegar.
Reviews (33)


23 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: RUBES1
I don't know how the original recipe would have come out, but w/ the way mine came out, I'd give it 5-stars! I made some minor adjustments: 1)I added in a clove of garlic as another reviewer recommended- it was strong at 1st, but great the next day, just right. 2)Secondly, after tasting the salad, I felt it was too "vinegary," (like another reviewer found it to be), so I added in another tbsp or 2 of oil & some more OJ (about 2-3 tbsps). An alternative would be to cut back on the vinegar to begin w/, to about 1/2 the amount. 3)The recipe says to stir in the spinach, onion & oranges right before serving, but the next day, after having sat in the dressing, the salad tasted sensational- MUCH better! The 1st day I would have given it 3-4 stars, but the second day I'd give it 5! The spinach leaves & rice really soak up the flavor. This is definitely a salad that's better to make the night before serving. I also added in some diced cooked chicken breast I had leftover from the night before & made it into a whole meal. That was delicious! I've submitted a photo of this recipe. Hope they approve it & post it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: HATS1
I MADE THIS SALAD FOR A LADIES LUNCHEON AND IT RECIEVED RAVE REVIEWS. I COOKED THE RICE IN SWANSON'S VEGETABLE BROTH AND ADDED DRIED CRANBERRIES FOR COLOR. WOULD MAKE THIS AGAIN IT IS A WINNER.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: GINNYG
This turned out great! I will definately make again...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: TRUCKERDOO
I varied the actual salad quite a bit so I can't comment on that, but this dressing is AMAZING. Seriously, it is one of the most delicious concoctions I've seen in a while! Thank you so much, I will use this as a salad dressing and a marinade. So good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: RUN_PAULA
Based on a couple of reviews that said this dish was bland, I made some modifications and the dish was delicious. I toasted some slivered almonds and added about 1 1/2 tsp. of Mrs. Dash seasonings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: urbantoronto
For added zip, to the orange juice mixture, add on clove minced fresh garlic. Works very well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: FOXHUNTER
Way too much rice for the rest of the ingredients. But rice was good and the left over portion will make another salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: ZUMBRC
Great 'company' dish on a hot day. Served with BBQ chicken breast it made an awesome meal - highly recommend it!! The rice when cooling absorbs the orange juice and creates a really nice flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: Redding Patti
I used white and wild rice (what I had in the pantry) and cooked it with a little butter and salt. I left out the spinach, orange and onion. Instead I used dried cranberries, apricots and golden rasins. For the dressing I doubled the orange juice and omitted the honey. This makes a wonderful salad to serve with cold chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: MEG10
I thought the balsamic vinegar overpowered the orange and the honey. It tasted more like balsamic vinegar rice and plain spinach.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes