My Reviews (74)

Broad Bean Dip or Spread

A deliciously seasoned broad bean, onion and tomato spread. This recipe is inspired by a dish traditionally served with pita bread for breakfast in Egypt. A great way to use broad beans when they're in season, but feel free to use frozen when they're not.
Reviews (74)


08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Katie
I was in egypt recently. They did eat this almost every morning. They did not put lemon in it. Instead they put lemon wedges in a bowl for you to squeeze on yourself. Typically they would smash all the beans with their fork and then scoop onto the pitabread!
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
Hello. I am Egyptian, Very nice ingredients, it's almost how we eat it. we usually ommit the red peppers And sometimes we mix all ingredients in a blender & it becomes a smooth creamy spread (i love that) & other times tbsp Tahini is added, air dried beef slices & also crushed garlic cloves is almost a necessity we don't usually add parsley though.
 
25 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: RichardMurphy
Usually I grow them just to dig the straw back into the soil. I have so many broad beans I don't know what to do with them all. Now I do. These Broad Bean Recipes are great. - Thanks.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: JONCIN
This makes your taste buds go wild!! and it's filling!
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: SHAZT
I made this for dinner because I couldn't wait until breakfast. It was soo yummy. Really lemony, cuminy and tangy tasting. Also, it was so easy and extremely fresh-tasting. I loved it. Give it a try.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: MAINJUMP
My favourite breakfast meal.
 
02 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: Wessam Zaki
Hello. I am Egyptian, Very nice ingredients, it's almost how we eat it. we usually ommit the red peppers And sometimes we mix all ingredients in a blender & it becomes a smooth creamy spread(i love that) & other times tbsp Tahini is added, air dried beef slices & also crushed garlic cloves is almost a necessity we don't usually add parsley though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: muslim mom
My husband is Egyptian and we make this (ful) at least once per week. Usually, we sautee the onion and tomato in some olive oil first... then add the garlic... then add in the rinsed, canned beans. Mash them with a fork. And let cook. Add salt & pepper, cumin, and 1 T or so of tahini. A little lemon and parsley to finish. Divine. Really good served with eggs too... hard boiled are more traditional, but we also do sunny-side up and poached. The yolky-bean mixture is yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: LAMBCHOP317
I was in egypt recently. They did eat this almost every morning. They did not put lemon in it. Instead they put lemon wedges in a bowl for you to squeeze on yourself. Typically they would smash all the beans with their fork and then scoop onto the pita bread!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Jennifer
This is the classic Middle Eastern way to enjoy fava beans. I wouldn't call it a "dip" per se by American standards. I always serve the beans in a bowl with pita bread or lavash (paper thin flat bread) on the side to dip in the liquid. If you don't find fava beans in the supermarket, try a Middle Eastern grocery store. They are also known as "foul mudammas" or "foul" (pronounced like 'fool'.) Yes, the smell during cooking may seem unusual to you at first, but the taste is all its own - and delicious. Thanks, Beverly, for sharing the recipe with everyone!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes