My Reviews (49)

Easy Banana Sorbet

This recipe is great for hot summer afternoons or a cold dessert. For one cup of mashed bananas, you will need about 3 small bananas.
Reviews (49)


11 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: jmeyerc
A quick simple and yummy dessert :o)
 
04 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: MAGDALENA3
Being tired of banana breads, cookies and muffins I decided to try this recipe. I used 3/4 cup of leftover heavy sugar syrup to which lemon juice had been added during cooking (2cups sugar, 1 cup water & 1/4 cup lemon juice). I then processed the bananas and the syrup briefly in food processor until smooth, poured into a tupperware container, froze for a few hours, mashed with a fork and froze again. Hubby, who's not too fond of banana concoctions, asked for second and third helpings. DELICIOUS.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: SHORECOOK
This recipe needs an easy fix to be 5 stars. Use 3 cups of water and yellow food coloring. I made it according to the recipe and froze it overnight. The next day it was a gooey heavy frozen banana. I had nothing to lose so I added 2 more cups of water, yellow food coloring and mixed it in a food processor. Within 2 hours of refreezing it was a yummy banana sorbet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: JacquiB
I made this for my son who can't eat dairy. I baked my bananas first for 20 minutes at 400 degrees F which prevents them from browning. It was very sweet, but for my son it was perfect. I added chocolate chips for him as a little treat. I will definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: KSBAKING
Didn't really care for it...way too sweet & the whole thing turned dark well before it even froze. Maybe some lemon juice would help?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Ann Cawthon
Good recipe-- and quick. Here's an even quicker variation: use the same ingredients and measurements. Put sugar and banana in blender workbowl and blend until sugar dissolved. Add ice water and pulse to mix. Put cold mixture in freezer bowl of electric ice cream maker and allow to turn and freeze. My ice cream maker took about 25 minutes to produce ready-to-eat sherbet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: signoritagump
This recipe is really easy - you do need to use much less sugar though. I used 1/2C, next time I will try 1/4C. I also added a splash of lemon juice to both the syrup and mashed banana to retain the color. Overall, I liked it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Oleannder
Due to the reviews I cut back the sugar a bit. I also added a pinch each of cinnamon & nutmeg, an additional banana a dash of cocoa & a splash of milk. It came out beautifully. Next time I'm going to add some strawberries just to see what happens.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: DECAR48
This is a very unappetizing dish to look at! Unless of course you like different color browns for dessert! Too sweet also as another reviewer noted.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: SugarKitty
i used reduced fat evaporated milk and some fat free sterilized milk instead of water - to cream it up - it was delicious - will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes