My Reviews (42)

Bread Machine Spelt Bread

A spelt loaf that you make in the bread machine. This ancient variety of strong wheat is now available in many supermarkets.
Reviews (42)


14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: LORIKAE
When making this recipe, you need to know what to expect from a spelt bread. Spelt is very healthy, but does not contain gluten like its wheat-relative. This means that as the yeast converts the sugars to gas (which normally causes a pillowy, airy dough) the bread dough without gluten cannot retain the air in bubbles in the dough. The result is a very typical European bread that is heavy, dense, can be sliced SUPER thin and served much like soft crackers. It is also, however, dense with nutrients and I thought this was a very good gluten-free recipe for bread!
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: SILVERSTAR61
This bread was horrible!!! I followed all the instructions, used new ingredients, right cycle, etc. Don't waste your time or ingredients.
 
23 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Rick429CJ
When I made this bread, I was concerned about the small quantity of liquid. The mixture was stiffer than other recipes I have tried. The result was ok. It tends to break when sliced or buttered. The loaf was 9 cm high. I am used to baking wheat type breads and they come up to the top of the breadmaker pan - 13cm
 
19 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Flanagan_lisa
I made this yesterday - turned out really well. I did add one teaspoon of bread improver, but would make this again
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
CLAIRESS said:
Just a note... spelt is a wheat grain. It is not safe for wheat allergic people.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: HILLECHIEN GRETEBECK
I made this a couple of times its easy and tasty. My fam loves it. Thanks very much.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: GRANTM
I haven' tried this recipe (yet) however adding a tablespoon of Vital Wheat Gluten to any recipe that doesn't have a large amount of actual "Bread Flour" will make the dough rise.
 
20 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: LORIKAE
When making this recipe, you need to know what to expect from a spelt bread. The result is a very typical European bread that is heavy, dense, can be sliced SUPER thin and served much like soft crackers. It is also, however dense with nutrients and I thought this was a very good recipe for bread! After reading the other reviews, I added an extra teaspoon of xanthan gum to hold it together and keep it moist. This worked out wonderfully.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Mairin
Spelt does contain gluten and is not suitable for those who are coeliac, however its gluten can be eaten by most who are intolerent to wheat. I use Spelt for all my baking, bread, cakes, cookies etc using any wheat recipe I find! the key is adjusting quanties of liquid added and kneading/mixing times. Keep any kneading to a minimum, after 3-4 mins the gluten will collapse. Add more liquid than the recipe calls for, you want your mixture to be marginally "sloppier" than when using wheat, this will make your end product light and airy. If you treat spelt like wheat in recipes you will end up with a very dense result. (as I found out when I first started)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Catfish
Good Bread Recipe!! I have a lot of experience baking with splet and would like to give a little advise. When making spelt bread it is a good idea to add some Zanthan Gum (about 1 tsp. per cup of spelt) This will help it to rise better. Also keep in mind that spelt doesn't have gluten in it (the reason many people use it) so it will be a more dense bread. Don't be expecting a light fluffy loaf. If you are, find a different grain!! Great Recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes