My Reviews (241)

Garlic Bread in the Bread Machine

The garlic is baked straight into this easy to make bread machine loaf. Ideal as a side bread to any Italian meal or barbeque.
Reviews (241)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
ALLEYCAT27 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I made the dough in the bread machine, then rolled it out onto a pan and made cuts in it and baked it in the oven for garlic bread sticks. I then brushed olive oil and sprinkled minced garlic and parmesan cheese (close to end of baking) on it. We ate the whole thing that night. But i find the amount of garlic in the recipe doesnt give it enough of a garlic flavour.
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
BATCAVES said:
Something else. Overall, I'd say this recipe was very good, though I did take the advice of other reviewers and ended up modifying mine somewhat. I did not have any powdered milk, so I used 4 tbs of condensed milk-- I think adding actual liquid instead of dried / powdered milk improves this bread because others have complained of it being too dry. I added 1/2 tsp oregano, 1 tsp rosemary and used vegetable oil instead of butter. I always hate the look of bread baked in a bread machine, so I set my machine for a dough cycle and finished the bread in the oven. When the dough cycle was completed, the bread had not risen very much at all even though the yeast was fresh. I turned the dough out onto a baking tray, covered and let rise for another half hour, then baked for about 50 mins, brushing the top of the loaf with more oil before baking and again halfway through. When it was done, the bread was VERY soft and dense, the crust was perfection. I had friends over, and the entire loaf was eaten by us with just butter. Everyone loved it! I will be making another loaf tomorrow .
 
Comment:
15 Feb 2010
mamamia said:
Altered ingredient amounts. instead of powdered milk i added 4 tbspns of thick tomato soup ...YUMMEEE!!
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
MMNERD said:
Used different ingredients. This is one of the best recipes for the bread machine I have. I do things slightly differently. I use olive oil instead of butter, fresh oregano from my garden chopped instead of parsley. I put almost everything in the warm water first then the flour than the oregano and yeast go on top. The taste with these changes is excellent. (I tried it to the letter first and didn't like it.) Good luck! ~jllebow
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
neb123 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I added a tablespoon of minced garlic and found the flavour fabulous.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Mai TLP
The bread itself was tough and crumbly. However, the *idea* of adding garlic and parsley to 'your favourite bread mix' will be a winner, I am sure!
 
16 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Jennifer Lebow
This is one of the best recipes for the bread machine I have. I do things slightly differently. I use olive oil instead of butter, fresh oregano from my garden chopped instead of parsley, 2 t. garlic cloves crushed instead of powder, and splenda instead of sugar. I put almost everything in the warm water first than the flour than the oregano and yeast go on top. The taste with these changes is excellant. (I tried it to the letter first and didn't like it.) If you find the bread doesn't raise very much just use the "scale this recipe" to adjust it. I find that 16-18 servings uses my 2lb. machine to capacity better than leaving it at 12 (the original setting on the recipe.) Good luck! ~jllebow
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: DarkerSolace
Overall, I'd say this recipe was very good, though I did take the advice of other reviewers and ended up modifying mine somewhat. First of all, I omitted garlic powder altogether and instead used three pounded cloves of fresh garlic-- you can most definately taste the garlic, but it is not overpowering. I also did not have any powdered milk, so I used 1/4th cup of condensed milk-- I think adding actual liquid instead of powdered milk improves this bread because others have complained of it being too dry. I added 1/2 tsp oregano, 1 tsp rosemary, and used vegetable oil instead of butter. I always hate the look of bread baked in a bread machine, so I set my machine for a dough cycle and finished the bread in the oven. When the dough cycle was completed, the bread had not risen very much at all even though the yeast was fresh. I turned the dough out onto a cookie sheet, covered and let rise for another half hour, then baked at 300 degrees for about 50 mins, brushing the top of the loaf with more oil before baking and again halfway through. When it was done, the bread was VERY soft and dense, the crust was perfection. I had friends over, and the entire loaf was eaten by us with just butter. Everyone loved it! I will be making another loaf tomorrow .
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: Sunkist
I made the dough in the bread machine, then rolled it out onto a pan and made cuts in it and baked it in the oven for garlic bread sticks. I then brushed olive oil and sprinkled garlic seasoning and parmesan cheese (close to end of baking) on it. We ate the whole thing that night. But i find the amount of garlic powder in the recipe doesnt give it enough of a garlic flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: Karen
I added a tablespoon of minced garlic and found the flavor fabulous.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes