My Reviews (351)

Challah in the Bread Machine

This is my easy version of Challah, Jewish braided bread. I use a bread machine to get the same great flavour (without the braiding).
Reviews (351)


Comment:
14 Jul 2008
ROGAMIL said:
Something else. I've tried a to make a number of challah recipes in my bread machine, and this is the first one that's turned out really well. The texture and taste are terrific. I prefer to use the bread machine to make the dough, and then braid the bread, let it rise for another hour or so, and bake it in an oven for 35 minutes. This recipe is also great with sutanas.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
CASSO_77 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. The first time I made this bread following exactly the recipe, but when I looked at the dough in the machine it was VERY crumbly, so I had to add more milk. Since the bread was delicious, I tried it an other time with an extra egg (3 instead of 2). The dough was perfect and everybody liked it very much!
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Used different ingredients. Excellent challah bread. Loaf just came out of machine and already half gone. I added 150g sultanas and baked on sweet setting and light crust...came out perfect.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Poookie said:
Something else. Thanks for the recipe. Didn't get a chance to turn it into a french toast breakfast. Family ate it out of the oven for dinner. The first time you use it in the bread machine, don't use the delayed timer. Instead, watch the dough to see if it needs more or less milk. Should form a smooth, soft ball after kneading. Test the crust setting, it darkens fast. Record this amount of milk and crust time for the next time. This prevents a dried out or blackened loaf. I found I needed a bit more milk and a medium crust on sweet dough cycle.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: FEEDMENOW
To solve the crustiness that this bread produces, we restrain ourselves and put the loaf into a ziploc bag and put it in the refrigerator overnight.
 
09 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: CASSO_77
The first time I made this bread following exactly the recipe, but when I looked at the dough in the machine it was VERY crumbly, so I had to put more milk. Since the bread was delicious, I tried it an other time (to give to my in-laws) and I tried it with an extra egg (3 instead of 2). The dough was perfect and everybody liked it very much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: ROGAMIL
I've tried a to make a number of challah recipes in my bread machine, and this is the first one that's turned out really well. The texture and taste are terrific. I prefer to use the bread machine to make the dough, and then braid the bread, let it rise for another hour or so, and bake it in a conventional oven for 35 minutes at 375 degrees. This recipe is also great with raisins added in.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: TammyW
Great challah- I add 1-2 extra Tbsp. sugar to it. I make it on the dough setting in my bread machine then let my kids braid it. Then I let in rise in a warm oven for an hour. Then glaze it with a mixture of one egg and 1 Tbsp water. I bake it for about 20-30 min. at 350. My family LOVES it!! Looks like I bought it from a bakery!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: CINDY3539
This deserves 10 stars atleast!! Easily the best loaf of bread on this site. Rose nicely, has great texture & flavor. I scalded the milk, cooled it to 100 degrees & proofed the yeast in it with a pinch of sugar. I then added the 2 eggs & 3 T oil(instead of margarine). I poured that into the machine; combined all dry ingredients & poured that on top of the wet ingrediemts. Set on medium & voila! a beautiful loaf of bread!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: Cyndi
Thanks for the recipe. Didn't get a chance to turn it into a french toast breakfast. Family ate it out of the oven for dinner. The first time you use it in the bread machine, don't use the delayed timer. Instead, watch the dough to see if it needs more or less milk. Should form a smooth, soft ball after kneading. Test the crust setting, it gets dark fast. Record this amount of milk and crust time for the next time. This prevents a dried out or blackened loaf. I found I needed a bit more milk and a medium crust on sweet dough cycle.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes