My Reviews (83)

Brazilian Fragrant Mince

This is a Brazilian recipe which is similar to chilli con carne called 'picadillo'. Serve it with rice or on a baked potato.
Reviews (83)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Kathi
It was Great! Served with rice and was a Great left over dish better the next day.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: BECKY SINCLAIR
I'm giving this a 5 because this is a great template. I guess I prefer Cuban or Mexican Picadillo. I followed directions exactly only finding that the clove spice was very overpowering even though we like clove. I was able to correct that by adding some sugar and cumin. You can subsitute the cinnamon and clove with coriander and cumin. Cubans also add sultanas - which does add to the flavour! This dish is sometimes used as a filling for tacos and empanadas - it is a very flexible dish. You can make it into a stew by adding sweetcorn, etc. Tonite I served it with grated cheddar cheese and sour cream on the side. Red wine or cold beer go great with it. Thanks submitter.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
BECCASUE said:
Made it healthier. LOVED this one! I scaled it back to serve 4. Also, I didn't use quite the amount of oil called for and there was no sacrifice of taste in doing so. I served this over steamed rice and had a fruit (mostly melon) salad along side. Wonderful! Will make this one again. Thanks for sharing.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: SWEETIRIS
Very good! I made this for my husband and he loved it. I added diced potatoes to it and seasoned it with Adobo (spanish style season-all).
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: jwallacemiller
We served it over jacket potatoes. Good cold weather meal.
 
27 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: Aspiring Chef Rita
I'm giving this a 5 because this is a great template. I guess I prefer Cuban or Mexican Picadillo. I followed directions exactly only finding that the clove spice was very overpowering even though we like clove. I was able to correct that by adding some sugar and cumin. You can subsitute the cinnamon and clove with coriander and cumin. Cubans also add raisins - which does add to the flavor! This dish is sometimes used as a filling for tacos and empanadas - it is a very flexible dish. You can make it into a stew by adding corn, etc. We enjoy this dish as much as we enjoy good old American chili. Tonite I served it with shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream on the side. Red wine or cold beer go great with it. Thanks submitter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: CHICALTNA
Very good! I made this for my husband and he loved it. To make it a little more Cuban style, I added diced potatoes and 6 chopped hard boiled eggs to it and seasoned it with a little beef bouillon and Adobo (spanish style season-all). Served with white rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Lindsey
This was really great. Like others suggested, I used cumin and coriander and served it over white rice. My boyfriend already claimed the leftovers for his lunch tommorrow.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: CHRISTYJ
LOVED this one! I scaled it back to serve 4. Also, I didn't use quite the amount of oil called for and there was no sacrifice of taste in doing so. I served this over steamed rice and had a fruit (mostly melon) salad along side. Wonderful! Will make this one again. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: may
DELICIOUS.....This is a nice variation to the typical Cuabn ingredients, the cinnamon and cloves gave it a nice touch though. I did add a very special ingredient which I believe made thsi dish even BETTER. I added 1/2 tbs of cumin (love cumin... gotta have cumin)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes