My Reviews (30)

My Favourite Colourful Brown Rice Salad Recipe

This brown rice salad recipe is made every Christmas without fail. It is a favourite of every member of the family, and whenever we have guests, they remark on the flavour of this beautiful colourful brown rice salad as well. Goes great with a bbq, other crisp leaf salads, cold meat, just about everything, use as a side dish or as a main with other salads and meat. The green and red capsicum and the black raisins make it a very colourful salad.
Reviews (30)


Comment:
06 Nov 2010
feebee06 said:
Used different ingredients. Did not include ginger, or green capsicum. Used dried currants instead of raisins (they are smaller and spread more evenly without needing to cut them up), and finally replaced the nuts with toasted pepitas and sunflower seeds (these are lower cost, achieve the same nutty crunch)
 
06 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: MaryannManchee
Loved this recipe, didn't have brown rice just used jasmine rice and it was absolutely delish. Served for A Christmas BBQ and the guest loved it so much I gave them the recipe. I have also used the dressing in a tossed salad and that was yummy also. I am going to use the dressing tonight to marinate some chicken wings as I feel this will be yummy also
 
20 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: _carolyn
love this - have made it twice now and everyone loves it!
 
13 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: lollydee82
This is so delicious, it will be a regular our menu. Also healthy and very simple to prepare. I was disappointed when my husband took the leftovers to work, was looking forward to eating them myself!
 
Comment:
12 May 2011
Clarefisher said:
Took shortcuts. I have this same recipe. But I use aus., Sun Rice 90second brown rice plus the 90second brown fried rice. That makes rice for 4 adults or a mum and dad kid's ect. Oh yeah Dad will eat any left overs that the kid's don't eat. The family dog never gets any of this.
 
03 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Melly
I've made this a few times now and it is always equally delicious and enjoyed by everybody. Just one minor quibble - why are the ingredients for the dressing enough to make enough for a lot more salad? It is unlikely to be used on something else within the next day or two. I probably used approx 3/4 of this quantity for nearly 2 cups of rice - but all ingredients are flexible to taste really!
 
Comment:
19 Jan 2010
hulbs said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Used loads more ginger and garlic
 
01 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: Cuppers
This was crazy good! Had to work with what I had on hand, no ginger or parsley. Added in chopped green beans, half a grated carrot and used lime juice instead of lemon. Ate it warm because I was so hungry. Amazing both warm and cold!
 
22 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: hailz840
Delicious salad. Made a couple of variations - used white rice, omitted the spring onions
 
13 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: amity1983
Love this recipe! This salad is made at a cafe I frequent, and I was so pleased to stumble upon the recipe. Have made it to rave reviews on a few occasions now.
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes