My Reviews (19)

Tiropita

This is a fairly easy Greek feta cheese pastry recipe has been passed down in my family. It's an excellent party dish. This one is made in one large dish but you can also do smaller triangles. Enjoy!
Reviews (19)


07 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Leigh Pera Reznik
Delicious! Just as good as my Greek friend's recipe. Here's a trick...go easy on the butter. I originally felt that I had to cover the entire sheet with butter. It's not necessary. The tiropitas still taste good, but they get a bit greasey. Just dab a little here and there. It's better that way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2008
Reviewed by: Sza Sza
I grew up and lived in Cyprus and Greece for almost 10 years. The one thing that I missed the most is of course, tyropita. So, I searched high and low for a great recipe that would taste authentic and this is it! However, I made some few additions : - I skipped out on the mint and opted for a mix of herbs instead. A friend got me a bag of salad herbs straight from Crete ( mix of dried mint, thyme and oregano ). I added this to the cheese mixture and it was amazing. - I also added the nutmeg which gave it that authentic Greek cuisine flavour. Other than that, the recipe is perfect and now it's become one of my favourite things to make in the kitchen! I made a whole batch and stored them in the freezer...they were gone within 2 days between my boyfriend and I!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Sara R
I made these as appetizers. Instead of butter, I sprayed between layers of philo with butter spray. I cut them into squares and pushed them into a mini muffin pan. I scooped the filling into each "cup" and baked them. They were a hit. Except for presentation, I didn't change a thing. These are delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: NancyCz
My first experiment with puff pastry! And it turned out great. We really enjoyed this dish. I substituted eggs for egg beaters, used reduced fat feta and fat free cottage cheese as well as "I can't believe it's not butter" spray. It was DELICIOUS! Next time I'm thinking I may reduce the cottage and feta cheese a little and throw in some spinach and tomatoes. Very yummy... I'm posting a pic of it right out of the oven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Kacie
My boyfriend loves this dish! It is one of his favorites. I have also made it low-fat using f/f cottage and feta cheese as well as spray butter. It still tasted great. Very rich and heavy, so serve it with some light veggies or a salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Mary M.
This is an excellent recipe. I added thyme, oregano, and nutmeg (didn't have any mint) as one reviewer suggested. I also used low-fat cottage cheese and cooking spray, as another reviewer mentioned. It turned out delicious, and even my fiance who says he hates both cottage cheese and feta loved it! I will certainly be making this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Sly Boots
This recipe reminds me of a dish my dad used to make, but he used ricotta and feta cheeses, no cottage cheese. Normally he would fold the phyllo into triangles and fill them with the egg and cheese mixture, but sometimes he would cook it in a pan, like a lasagna.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Vickie Spencer
I only used 1/2 cup butter and these got too greasey and not flaky at all. I thought the filling had too much egg and not enough cheese even though I used 10 oz of feta cheese. I also used my mixer on low to mix everything and I wonder if that put too much air into the filling. Next time I plan on using one less egg, more feta and I will dab the butter around like another person said. My husband loves Tiropitas so much I really want to perfect this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: hhaidysh
I've never had these before, but I found them a little bland. I added a package of frozen spinach (thawed and drained) and some chopped up sundried tomatoes and it turned out a little bit more for my liking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: M Veach
Great recipe!! As suggested I did add oregano, thyme, mint and nutmeg.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes