My Reviews (8)

Tender Slow Cooked Roast Chicken

This is so easy to make, and tastes wonderful. Be careful not to over cook the chicken. This is also just as tasty cold the next day in sandwiches.
Reviews (8)


Comment:
29 Sep 2009
kellygirl said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Made my stuffing with garlic, onion, nuts, raisins, one slice of wholemeal bread + fresh sage. I also added in some potatoes, carrots and butternut pumpkin when there was 2 hours to go. What a fab dinner in one pot. Also put it on the timer + ready when you walk in the door... yum.
 
29 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: kellygirl
Thanks - this was a great basic for me.
 
25 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: Jay1
Sounds good, but no liquid? I'm just a beginner>
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
28 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: janok
This chicken was one of the easiest,tastiest recipes I have used,just 2 "tweeks" though. 1,sit the chicken on chunks of carrot and onion as this will go towards a great tasting gravey and 2,I cooked it 8hrs on low not high.All in all a really good recipe,Thanks for sharing ☺ To Jay1,I didn't use any extra liquid as enough comes from the chicken (dont worry,it won't burn !)
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
21 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: SLid
The easiest but best way to roast chicken in my opinion. Very tender but the seasoning gives it just enough subtle tang. Don't worry about not using stock. Plenty of juices should leak out so that it cooks itself. It falls apart as you try to move it so you hardly have to carve it either.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
17 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: lindamcbride2000
Brilliant - I added a tablespoon of Jerk seasoning (Barts) and served with rice and peas. So easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
19 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: throupie
I also added onions and carrots in the bottom, I won't be going back to the oven for chicken again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
22 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: AnnieMaz
I followed other tweekers and sat the chicken on carrots and onions and cooked with the breast down for 8 hours on medium. Yes, the chicken was lovely and the legs were tender, although the breast was quite dry. Whilst it was good, it obviously didn't have that "roasted" flavour so will go back to the oven I think.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes