My Reviews (180)

Layered Mexican Dip

A quick no-bake layered Tex-Mex dip, served with corn chips. You can improvise a little with the ingredients. Great for parties and barbecues.
Reviews (180)


21 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: TriciaNorman
Made this for a party and it was fabulous. I added a chilli and some spring onions to the refined beans with a bit of sour cream and whizzed it which improves the flavour of the canned taste and the overall heavy texture, it became more whipped and light. Also meant I didn't have to use the powdered taco mix much nicer actually. Definitely recommend. Use fresh avocado not dip mashed it with lemon juice and chives added salt & pepper.
 
20 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: BENTLA
I added the taco seasoning to the sour cream and used canned diced tomatoes (to make it easier). It was ABSOLUTELY delicious and a definite crowd-pleaser.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: DTNYC
I make this often and my family loves it. I would suggest mixing the taco seasoning into the refried beans.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: BECKYBAX
This was a big hit at the office. I mixed the taco seasoning with the sour cream. I also layered the guacamole in between the beans and the sour cream to prevent browning. Chopped jalapenos give it a good kick!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Shannon
This recipe was the hit of my party. I listened to some other reviewers and I sprinkled taco seasoning on top of the beans, but I also mixed it in with the sour cream which just tasted amazing! I also used salsa instead of tomatoes, and I added black olives, and jalapenos on top. I heated the layers, up to the cheese and toppings, except for the sour cream. After the cheese was melted, I removed the dip from the oven, let it cool for a minute or two, and then I added the sour cream on top. It was the favorite dish of the evening, and it made it to my "make again and again" list.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: VICBEN
I am giving this 4 stars because I made a couple of changes that I probably should not have. We started eating it immediately after I made it and it was way too rich (change #1)! So we decided to stick in the refrigerator and try it again the next night. By this time it was too watery because I had used a can of diced tomatoes w/green chiles (change #2) that I thought I had thoroughly drained but it was a soupy mess! May try again after chilling the 2 hours as stated in the recipe. Thanks Rusty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: Morgan Luce
I made this for a work party that I went to... it was a HUGE hit... I got a lot of good comments on it. My mom used to make this when we went to parties but the taco seasoning mix addition was new to me. I added salsa instead of tomatos and layered the bottom with shredded lettuce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: GINAH1
My Bunko group loved this dip!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
Great vegitarian alternative to seven layer dip.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: JOHN STERBENZ
This dip has gotten rave reviews every time I've made it. Quick and easy, it's been served at staff parties, tailgates, barbecues, and picnics. Easily customizable, I usually place the green onion and olives off to the side. Thank you, Rusty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes