My Reviews (17)

White Bean, Tomato and Avocado Salad

A tasty and simple salad. Even the kids love it! Its fine to eat as soon as you've made it but tastes even better when chilled and left to marinade over night.
Reviews (17)


21 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
Simply excellent! The combination of avocados, grape tomatoes and cannellini beans is like a marriage made in heaven, and the green onion provides just enough interest. Bright and beautiful, with fresh, flavorful ingredients. The lemon juice and olive oil dressing is light and understated, the perfect complement. I SO appreciated that this wasn't bogged down with heavy seasonings! Just before serving, I topped the salad with some freshly shaved Parmegiano-Reggiano and it was a nice addition. Now this is the "Mediterranean Style" way of eating exemplified. Good and good FOR you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Jackie
Really easy and yummy. Maybe add Cilantro and do Lime instead of Lemon. Just a suggestion to change it up
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: CaGardener
Easy and tasty. DO NOT CHILL! Refrigerating tomatoes kills the flavor. I did this recipe using 3 kinds of tomatoes from my garden - red cherry, yellow pear, and green zebra -- and served it at room temperature. Usually I add herbs to recipes, but the simplicity of this one let the distinct flavors of the tomatoes emerge, and the effect was wonderful (not to mention healthy). If you use good, fresh tomatoes and avoid the fridge, you won't have to spike it with lime, cilantro, etc. to give it flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: mandymuggins
I thought it was nice. The avocado is a nice complement. I must confess I used lima (butter) beans instead of white beans since I prefer them. At the last minute we had unexpected company - so to stretch it I added pasta shells, corn and red pepper. I had no complaints and hardly any leftovers! It's a great recipe where anything goes - and with fresh ingredients it's nice to have a simple citrus-y flavor! I might try lime juice & cilantro next time as one reviewer suggested.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: LADYJAYPEE
This was a little bland for us, so I added a fresh minced garlic clove, some Italian seasoning, some fresh herbs too, and a dash of Italian white wine vinegar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: cathyo
Nice idea, but pretty bland. I added some Italian seasoning which helped, but it probably could use a real vinagrette for some more flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Candice
I've been looking for recipes to use all the fresh tomatoes from my garden. We like bean salads and we LOVE avacadoes, so this looked like a winner. I made exactly per recipe directions. It was good, but it needs something. I think garlic or ??? I will make again, but I will most definately tweak.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: HPP22207
Very simple and surprisingly tasty while being nutritious. I'm going to try bringing to a potluck, as the recipes makes a very ample amount.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Lisa
Excellent light salad. Added a little crumbled bleu cheese for a little kick. Would be great without it also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: B.A. DITTBURNER
Really tasty recipe that needs no lettuce to make a great salad. Don't overdo it on the beans though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes