My Reviews (329)

Easy Colourful Corn Salad

So easy and colourful this is a perfect salad for your next barbecue, enjoy the flavours of capsicum, tomatoes and coriander in an Italian salad dressing.
Reviews (329)


12 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Jon
I am not quite sure why the 1 user didn't care for this dish. I made the mistake of fixing it last night for a mexican theme tonight. Now I have to fix another bowl today because there is only about a cup left. This is such an easy recipe and it does NOT have to be followed by the letter to turn out grand.....Be creative...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: NEWLYWEDS2004
This was excellent. The changes I made are to first DRAIN AND RINSE THE BEANS. The first time I made it I did not and it got sloppy and mushy. I used frozen white shoepeg corn, only because I personally hate canned corn (if you use canned I'd drain that too), and I used one can black beans and one can kidneys - just to add to the color. Also, instead of bottled Italian dressing I made my own with capers, caper juice, white wine, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and garlic - you can probably use any kind of oil/vinegar dressing you like. The jalepeno added just enough spice, I'd personally use a little more but this was fine. Oh - and I used whole grape tomatoes, sliced ones may make it too runny also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: DI. L
This made for a beautiful salad-the color combination was great. Someone mentioned how horrible it looked-they must not have drained the beans is all I can figure. I did make a few changes. I added some cumin, cayenne pepper and chili powder. After I had it all mixed up I thought it was screaming for pasta so I added about a cup of cooked rotini. I used red and green peppers and also added a bit of chopped celery. I left the pimentos out because it was red enough and didn't have the avocado so I skipped that as well. My end result was a very tasty and pretty side dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: SYLVIAWIG
I've made this salad a couple times since trying it. Very easy, and no cooking involved. I've omitted the pimentos, but the salad doesn't need it. I love black beans, so I put equal parts black beans and corn. Also, I'd add a red or yellow bell pepper for more color and a little more sweetness than the green. Don't skimp on the cilantro, and for some additional punch add a little more jalapeno pepper. Delicioso!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: SUEBAGS
I've made this several times and have meant to submit my rave review for about a year now. This recipe is tasty, healthy and very versatile. Make it spicy or not---eat it as a salad, use it as a salsa with chips, or throw it in a pita or tortilla! My variation is to use 2 cans beans, 1 can corn and omit the avocado & pimentos. (avocado gets a bit slimy as a leftover) That's just me though--this can be adjusted to anyone's preference! Truly a winner!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: GINAH1
I made this for a Mexican theme part and received many compliments.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: RBEN
I can't say enough bad things about this recipe. Mixing the ingredients makes it looks terrible and completely unappetizing. I followed the recipe to the letter, and ended up with enough salad to feed 100 people (unless for some reason this is the only dish available). I brought this salad to a mexican theme potluck party, and it was a TOTAL flop. No one touched it. Very embarrassing, a waste of money, and a waste of time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: MSKETTYMG
Great recipe! Instead of fresh tomatoes I bought canned diced tomatoes and drained them before adding them to the salad. You can't tell the difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: MOLSON7
Easy. colorful. I would cut down on the cilantro a bit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: KELLPT
I have made this several times and it never fails that I am asked for the recipe everytime! However, I am not sure who decided it only takes 20 minutes of prep time!! It usually takes well over an hour, but is worth it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes