My Reviews (346)

Ratatouille pasta bake

A great pasta bake using ravioli and ratatouille veggies-eggplant, zucchini, capsicum and tomatoes. A vegetarian main that everyone will love.
Reviews (346)


18 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: ChristineM
Very clever and delicious idea! I opened a can of pureed tomatoes instead of diced, so mine was more saucy than it should have been, but it worked. I used a smaller but deep casserole so I put a little sauce in the bottom, layer of ravioli, veggies and sauce, more ravioli and topped with the rest of the veggies and sauce, and cheese. While I love traditional ratatouille, I usually need to have something else with it as it's not too filling for me - the ravioli makes this a complete, and delicious, meal! Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: HONEYWINE01
Like everyone, I made changes to suit my own style and ingredients, but the basic recipe here is a wonderful canvas to build on. It was wonderful. My changes---I used a pint jar of tomato sauce (home canned) in place of the diced tomatoes, sausage cheese torteloni in place of ravioli because that's what I had on hand, added mushrooms, used fresh parsley and pesto concentrate from a tube instead of dried because dried parsley and dried basil are about the most useless and flavorless dried herbs there are, and I added a little bit of grated parmesan to the mozzarella just because I wanted to finish up the bit I had.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Lisa Lewis
Wow, this is stellar! I'm not normally a fan of eggplant, but I could really eat this every day. We didn't have parsley on hand, and I'm not sure what it would have added. Used fresh ravioli instead of frozen, and didn't bother pre-cooking it. I added a yellow squash, too, because we didn't have quite enough zucchini. This will go on permanent rotation.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: cookingin613
This is a great fall recipe since I was able to buy almost everything at my local farmers' market. I left the peel on (it's full of anti-oxidants!)...especially since I used baby eggplants and their skin was not too tough. I also used fresh tomatoes (3 large) to cut down on the sodium and had to add a little bit of water because of it. I used fresh spinach ravioli instead of cheese ravioli. This is a really healthy and yummy dish. It tastes even better reheated the next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: DMEDTRANS
This is fantastic. I used half Fire-Roasted canned tomatoes and half fresh from the garden, and added mushrooms. Also used a 5-cheese blend instead of just mozzarella. I went to put the leftovers away and my family had demolished the whole casserole! Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: brandee
Very tasty and easy to prepare. Great way to use garden vegetables. I used very ripe fresh tomatoes from the garden and it turned out wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: nzmrsjones
Totally awesome recipe! We hadn't tried eggplant before, and have always wanted to - this was a perfect introduction. No real changes made to the recipe. We had fresh basil and parsley so we used 3 tablespoons of each of those for the conversion from dried to fresh. We also tossed and coated the diced eggplant with salt for a half hour ahead of time, rinsed and dried it on paper towel. This closes the cells of the eggplant, which keeps it from soaking up the olive oil during cooking. Basically it keeps the eggplant from to becoming slimy. Other than using fresh herbs and prepping the eggplant we made it as directed, which resulted in a definitely make me again recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: snappsie
This is excellent. My husband likes both ratatouille and ravioli. What a wonderful way to give him both.Add your own favorite seasonings to your taste. Will make on a routine basis...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Traci-in-Cali
Hubby thought this was great; I thought it was all-right! Lots of good veggies, maybe a spicier ravioli would help perk it up; something with sausage maybe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Marina Moffat Kaup
Very good! I love the use of fresh basic ingredients. And it's quick & easy to throw together on a weeknight, what more could you want! I used fresh ravioli and just put it straight into the dish (it cooked fully during baking). Also the store was out of eggplant (I know, weird) so I used extra zuchini and added mushrooms. I think you can use whatever veggies you like. Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes