My Reviews (59)

Black Bean Pasta with Spinach

Whole wheat pasta with a nutritious sauce of spinach, broccoli and tomato and tinned black beans. You can use other beans if you can't find black.
Reviews (59)


23 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: ROWORK
I did as another reviewer suggested and added oregano and chili powder and upped the cayene. I cooked 1/2 package of wheat rotini and appx 1 cup veggie broth. Great flavor. Will definitely make this again, thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: paulgedz
This was fun to make and delicious! I added an extra garlic clove and some tomato purée as well as a smidgeon of flour to thicken it up! The sauce alone could be made as a soup. The family loved it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
15 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: cookin'gal
I read all 33 reviews before making this dish and decided to make as directed first. I cooked the broth and vegetables in a large skillet and the broth cooked way down while the veggies were cooking so mine was not soupy at all. It had just enough broth to keep the pasta moist after I mixed the pasta into the dish at the end. I added enough red pepper flakes to make it mellow and not hot. I too felt it needed more seasoning beyond salt and pepper, but I didn't want to go the southwestern flavor route. I waited until the whole wheat pasta was cooked, then tried a taste test with a spoonful seasoned with basil. Next, a spoonful with oregano. I ended up adding dried basil and dried oregano to taste (a generous half-teaspoon each) and it tasted very good with the cheese sprinkled on. This is a very good week night dish. I liked it and my husband did also but commented that he would like maybe some Italian sausage on the side! I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Sintea
I liked this alot. You could even eat the sauce like a soup, it was that tasty even without adding the pasta.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: CNM CATERING
Everyone really liked this including my 6 yr old who had 2nd's. I made exactly as written except I used fresh broccoli florets instead of frozen chopped. I will make this again! thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: BethCooks
This was excellent! Cooked up quickly and had lots of flavour. Was a tasty, healthy, filling meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
28 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Sylvia C.
I've been making this recipe for several years. It's so tasty and easy to prepare. I use slightly less broth (about 1 cup) and usually add extra garlic. I'll also use fresh broccoli instead of frozen -- this just increases the cook time slightly, but it's so worth it. We usually eat this over rice and not the pasta.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2007
Reviewed by: Becky
This was very good and quite flavorful. I added a little more tomato and drained the fluid a little as there seemed to be too much. Good both bit and cold!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: kristen m
I did this differently but it was really good. I used 1/2 lb pasta, aout 1/2 cup chicken broth, and also halved the spinach (used frozen), but I kept the entire can of black beans, used a whole head of broccoli, and used a medium can of spicy diced tomatoes in place of the fresh chopped tomato. I also added some crushed red pepper in addition to the other seasonings. We really liked this as a main dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: CARISSABA
Turns out watery and not very flavorful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes