My Reviews (38)

Eggplant Casserole

This recipe is a cross between a casserole and a bake, with a combination of eggplant, tomatoes and onions baked in a garlic and sour cream sauce.
Reviews (38)


01 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: homechef
easy and delicious ! i used canned tomatoes instead of fresh and is was just awesome !
 
28 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Kerry Rodriguez
The concept was great and I only adapted it a little bit. I took the advice of another review and sauteed the onions in olive oil with oregano and salt until they were soft. I also, rather than use just tomatoes, I simmered the tomatoes with oregano, garlic, and the paprika that was mentioned. I did not boil the eggplant, rather used a covered casserole dish and left the entire thing in for a hour. I served it with rice and it was far from bland and VERY good. A super healthy dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Mary Beth
Sooo delicious. I had this same dish, or one very like it, at a restaurant in Russia and have been trying to recreate it since. I made sure my onions were sliced very thin so that they would be sufficiently cooked in the oven, but still have some of the oomph which would be lost by sauteeing. This is definitely going into a regular rotation in my kitchen.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Mrs. Jason
I was somewhat surprised by how this dish turned out. When I first cooked it, it seemed somewhat bland. I am not sure what, but there was something about the flavor that was odd, not really full and savory, but not really unpleasant. As suggested by other reviewers, I sauteed the onion, and instead of boiling the eggplant I simply put it in the casserole raw, covered the dish, and cooked it for a little over an hour. (I don't like the idea of boiling veggies when other means of cooking exist because I want to preserve their nutrients and flavors as much as possible.) Otherwise I made no other modifications. I think what surprises me the most is how I really like it a lot more after being reheated in the microwave. This seems unusual to me. There is still something missing IMO about the taste. I am not sure what to suggest other than the flavors seem to come out underdeveloped. I think this could be fantastic if the flavors were a little richer and full. Perhaps seasoning the eggplant with pepper and cumin or coriander prior to putting them in the casserole might help. I like the creaminess of the sauce combined with the subtleties of the onion and tomato, I just wish there was more of a savory accent to draw it all together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: WHATScooking4DINNER
I also sauteed onions in olive oil with spices, then did the same with tomatoes. Turned out great! Family loved it. It's a very famous recipe called "under the coat" or with literal translation "under the fur coat" (pod shoo-boy). You can cook many dishes under the coat (of sour cream or mayo).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: ROBORG
So good! I made three of each layer, and due to others comments on blandness and not enough sauce, I used about 1 3/4 cups sour cream, 2 tsp salt, and 3 cloves of roasted garlic. I added some evaporated milk to stretch the sauce too but it didn't need it, it was a little watery (I forgot to sprinkle layers with flour per the recipe, I think that would've helped too). But it was savory and delicious, even people who didn't like eggplant or onions loved it and asked for the recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Erin K.
For the most part I agree with the others...rather bland. However, I am sitting here eating it for lunch and served it over a plate of spinach, bulgar and pine nuts. Much tastier. If I made this again I'd actually bake it with a layer of spinach and maybe a sprinkling of parm.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: morgiana
this recipe was great. The first time I boild my eggplant and sauteed onions in olive oil, next time I steamed onions and eggplant , i used a can of italian stewed tomatoes both times, and at each stage of steaming put garlic across teh top. i was generous wth the paprika on top of the whole thing too. it was far from bland. i also used cottage cheese in with the sour cream as i was low on the sour cream the and didnt wish to run to teh store. i am rating it a four because it does not say to steam or boil the veggies and i feel it should.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Penny
We eat alot of tzitziki at our house. And sometimes I make it with sour cream instead of yogurt. I was looking for recipes that used sour cream and came across this one. So I used tzitzikti I made from sour cream in this recipe instead of just plain sour cream. I drizzled a little bit of olive oil on the bottom and on each layer. Also I sprinkled each layer with some chopped up fresh parsley and crumbled feta. It was really good! If you like everything with a greek flare, you will love this. Also I did not boil my eggplant. I just cooked 20 mins longer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2010
Reviewed by: violamad
Excellent dish! I would recommend a very large eggplant, as it shrinks significantly when you boil it. It's great served over rice!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes