My Reviews (47)

Lamb Shanks in Red Wine Sauce

The preparation is incredibly simple. All vegetable ingredients are cut into medium sized pieces, not diced. Serve with steamed potatoes or mashed potatoes and green vegetables of your choice. Absolutely scrumptious!! Enjoy!!!
Reviews (47)


10 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: janenels030
I loved this recipe and especially the sauce it was finger licking. I wasnt sure what to do with the brown sugar so I just mixed in with the wine mix. I also only cooked it for 4.5 hours as i only used to lamb shanks. This is a dish i will be making again.
 
Comment:
05 Sep 2010
minnie1966 said:
Something else. most important alteration: i only cooked it for half the time specified also a little change i made & that was to add a garnish when serving made of chopped parsley & mint, chrushed garlic & finely grated lemon rind. it just added that little something!
 
12 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Hawkeye
this was a very nice and easy reciepe and i must say came out delis !!! although the only change i made was put the stock and other stuff with the little bit of oil i used to brown the shanks and added whole garlic cloves but i love garlic so !! otherwise stuck to reciepe ! devine
 
05 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: minnie1966
lamb shanks are always a winner & this slow cook recipe didn't disapoint great flavour & great presentation
 
27 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: SeraHurley
This was amazing! I only made a couple of minor alterations but think they were worth it: I started with mixing the wine, stock, brown sugar, tomato paste, salt and pepper (adding garlic and rosemary to the original recipe) and marinated the shanks in the liquid overnight. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly, including the 8 hour cooking time on low...so tender and flavourful and literally falling off the bone. I highly recommend this easy and tasty recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
 
10 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: aido
This recipe didn't mention what to do with the brown sugar, so i stirred it into the wine / tomato paste mixture. The sauce tasted very nice, but I didn't really like it combined with the lamb. I think it would be much better with beef. Although my lamb shanks weren't very good which could have been the problem, so I'll give this recipe the benefit of the doubt and give 3 stars instead of the 2 stars I was originally gonna give.
 
29 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: JamiePress
Mouth-watering! I added plenty of garlic and the rind of one lemon, plus I doubled the amount of red wine. I cooked it for the full 8 hours. Absolutely beautiful. Will be making it again!
 
30 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: Marian100
Never ever add a stock cube. If you do you will only taste stock cube, nothing else.
 
20 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: karenwal1
simple and delicious, best gravy I have ever made.
 
20 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: Shania
What an outstanding recipe. Just delicious.
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes