My Reviews (357)

Dog Biscuits

Lovely unsalted treats for your dog, so much cheaper than buying them in the store. They look best if you use doggie themed biscuit cutters.
Reviews (357)


08 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: AMBERDARLAND
I used the ingredients on hand and somehow spruced up this recipe quite a bit. I used whole wheat pancake mix since it already had the baking powder in it, and substituted about 1/2 of the milk with banana baby food; I thought that would be a great combo with the peanut butter. The dog loved the treats, and I thought the dough tasted pretty good myself!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: ljk61
I make these for my Aussie pup and always keep them on hand for training purposes. I roll out the dough, put it on a greased cookie sheet, then roll a pizza cutter thru them and make them rather small- about 1 inch squares, then bake until crispy. This is a quick and easy way to make lots of treats. She loves them!! I use them at obedience class and all the dogs just love them. They will do anything for these treats. Great recipe, healthy, and much cheaper than store bought treats. If you're concerned about the ingredients in store bought treats- these are perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Shannon
I dont know if anyone has mentioned that dogs should not have wheat if you can help it, you should use rice flour instead
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Jenny
Made these and found that you have to make sure the dough is very thin before cutting and cooking and also flip half way through or these come out crunchy ont the bottom and soft and squishy on the top. Also if you leave them too long with out flipping the bottom can burn. Like the fact that this was a very easy recipe and doesn't take a lot of work. Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Emily B.
My dog loves peanut butter so this was the perfect treat! I ran out of this treat yesterday so I give him a milkbone treat instead and he spit it out and just looked at me. I guess he likes the homemade ones better! :-) Thank you for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Erin
My children and I used this recipe for a fundraiser for animal victims of Hurricane Katrina. We raised over $500 selling these biscuits. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Mandy S.
I made these for our Golden Retriever for Christmas. I didn't use a cookie cutter, just rolled them in balls and pressed a fork across the top (mostly so I could distinguish the her cookies from the 'human' cookies). Very easy, very happy dog!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2006
Reviewed by: LucyDelRey
I made these for my 5 pound Maltese and her friends!!! They loved them!! I used the large bone shapped cookie cutters for the larger critters and cut "bite size" kibble for my wee little fur ball since her jaw is the size of my index finger (really *smile*). SEE MY PHOTO!!! I doubled the recipe and it made a massive mount. Next time, I will roll the dough thinner since these biscuits rose higher than expected.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: jsmpls
I have been searching the site for a good recipe for dog treats. After reading a bunch of the reviews for this recipe, I looked up foods dogs should not have, and according to WebMD, both baking powder and baking soda are toxic, and dogs should not have milk either. I'm not sure if people are making these recipes up without consulting veterinarians, but be careful. I didn't want to take the chance.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: collectivekelly
GREAT! 1 )Ok, so I made the recipe exactly as stated and they came out perfectly. I tried them and they were very bland and floury, oh but my two dogs; Buster & Milo thought they were the best thing ever made. They went crazy while I was making them and I couldnt believe that they wanted these more than the soft bacon/jerky treats I had. 2) I made the 2nd batch using apple sauce instead of the milk as reviewers suggested. My dogs had no preference in the finished product and they were much more prone to burn. I ruined a few of the cookie sheets trying to work out flipping them and things I did not have to do with the first batch. I noticed also that reviewers who mentioned them burning also changed the recipe. Perhaps the sugar in the applesauce made them burn? Anyhow I recomend the original recipe. 3)I also tried another dog biscuit recipe from this site that seemed to have easy and normal ingredients but the dough was much harder to work with. THIS RECIPE IS THE BEST!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes