My Reviews (357)

Dog Biscuits

Lovely unsalted treats for your dog, so much cheaper than buying them in the store. They look best if you use doggie themed biscuit cutters.
Reviews (357)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CHRISTYJ
My children and I used this recipe for a fundraiser for animal victims of Hurricane Katrina. We raised over $500 selling these biscuits. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
naples34102 said:
Something else. I made these this morning as gifts to go with one of my dogs who is being sent to Ontario to be bred. These dog biscuits are so easy! I have an expensive healthy dog biscuit book where most recipes require a long list of real ingrediants including powdered milk or corn meal. The latter ingredients I rarely use, so I have to plan making dog biscuits instead of being spontaneous. I had all 4 ingrdients in this recipe - and they are healthy! I have Toy Manchester Terriers and as another member suggested I just rolled the dough into teeny tiny balls and pressed them with a fork as I would a peanut butter biscuit. I ended up throwing out almost half the dough because after rolling more than 150 little balls I was tired!!! So next time I will half the recipe. I baked the wee little biscuits for about 7-10 minutes just until they were golden brown on the bottom. They were too cute! They look just like mini peanut butter biscuits! As mentioned most of these biscuits were used as doggie gift packages. I use a small brown paper bag and fold it closed near the top. I staple it once, then make a hole with a hole punch and make a nice bow with twine. I either use color markers to write on the bag or add a tag with the twine! Thank you Tami for an amazing and much appreciated dog biscuit recipe!!
 
Comment:
28 Dec 2010
rltennent said:
Used different ingredients. My dogs just love these bikkies! I leave out the baking soda so they don't rise as much and add chopped up carob dog drops for doggie friendly peanut butter choc chip cookies!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
CHICALTNA said:
Used different ingredients. I made these biscuits the other night for my three dogs - a collie, a black lab mix, and a shih tzu. The first batch I rolled out too thin and baked for too long so they turned out to be a little darker than what I had planned. The dogs didn't mind, they ate them anyway. I didn't have any skim milk on hand and I also didn't have any whole wheat flour so I used all-purpose flour and substituted apple sauce for the milk. I also added a tablespoon of honey for a little splash of sweetness. The dough tasted great and Dana, Midnight, and Annie love the treats!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JACKIE880 said:
Used different ingredients. I used the ingredients on hand and somehow spruced up this recipe quite a bit. I used whole wheat pancake mix since it already had the baking powder in it, and substituted about 1/2 of the milk with banana baby food; I thought that would be a great combo with the peanut butter. The dog loved the treats, and I thought the dough tasted pretty good myself!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Aspiring Chef Rita
I made these for my 5 pound Maltese and her friends!!! They loved them!! I used the large bone shapped biscuit cutters for the larger critters and cut "bite size" kibble for my wee little fur ball since her jaw is the size of my index finger (really *smile*). SEE MY PHOTO!!! I doubled the recipe and it made a massive mount. Next time, I will roll the dough thinner since these biscuits rose higher than expected.
 
08 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: spazz
Just made these, they are so easy to make... I made my own peanut butter and my girl was watching me the whole time :-)
 
21 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: naples34102
As an experienced baker, I should have known that stated cooking times are only guides! So many variables...your oven's temperature, size and thickness of cookies, etc. Baking my "bones" for 20 minutes was far too long, even though I used a 4" cookie cutter. I would recommend starting out with a baking time several minutes less than recipe states. You can always add time, but you can't undo it! Other than my own error, these were wonderful little treats. Quick and easy to mix together and roll out. I thought puppy might appreciate a little sweetness so I, too, added a bit of honey. If I can find a recipe, next time I make these I would like to try a yogurt frosting for these similar to what they use at retail stores like the Stylish Paw!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: FOXFIRE2
I made these this morning as gifts to go with one of my dogs who is being sent to Ontario to be bred. These dog cookies are so easy! I have an expensive healthy dog cookie book where most recipes require a long list of real ingrediants including powdered milk or corn meal. The latter ingredients I rarely use, so I have to plan making dog cookies instead of being spontaneous. I had all 4 ingrdients in this recipe - and they are healthy! I have Toy Manchester Terriers and as another member suggested I just rolled the dough into teeny tiny balls and pressed them with a fork as I would a peanut butter cookie. I ended up throwing out almost half the dough because after rolling more than 150 little balls I was tired!!! So next time I will half the recipe. I baked the wee little cookies for about 7-10 minutes just until they were golden brown on the bottom. They were too cute! They look just like mini peanut butter cookies! As mentioned most of these cookies were used as doggie gift packages. I use a small brown paper bag and fold it closed near the top. I staple it once, then make a hole with a hole punch and make a nice bow with twine. I either use color markers to write on the bag or add a tag with the twine! Thank you Tami for an amazing and much appreciated dog cookie recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: xAlison 351
I made these biscuits the other night for my three dogs - a collie, a black lab mix, and a shih tzu. The first batch I rolled out too thin and baked for too long so they turned out to be a little darker than what I had planned. The dogs didn't mind, they ate them anyway. I didn't have any skim milk on hand and I also didn't have any whole wheat flour so I used all-purpose flour and substituted apple sauce for the milk. I also added a tablespoon of honey for a little splash of sweetness. The dough tasted great and Dana, Midnight, and Annie love the treats!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes