My Reviews (9)

Nasi Lemak

Delicious Malaysian coconut rice, served with an anchovy chilli sauce, fried anchovies, fried peanuts, sliced cucumber and hard-boiled egg. If you do not have tamarind juice, substitute with same amount of lemon juice.
Reviews (9)


28 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: ika
for the rice, do add one stalk of crushed lemongrass. it enhances the flavor and aroma. and for the sauce, blend the shallots and garlic together with the chile paste until smooth. First, saute the onion slices, then, add the chile mixture and go on with the directions provided here.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Annette
We substituted lemon juice for the tamarind, and it turned out great. The recipe is a little complicated, but it's worth it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: deleriana
this meal is absolutely delicious!.. i had a leftover of chicken curry n it goes really well with this meal too! definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: buruklantak
wow very very delicious i eat nasi lemak(fat rice) everyday the most popular one is nasi lemak antarabangsa in kg baru, kl, malaysia come people, visit malaysia n taste the real pot of malaysian nasi lemak(fat rice) p/s sorry. i speak english little-little =p
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Darryl
A Malaysian classic. Nice recipe that turned out well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Chaz
For the coconut rice,instead of bay leaf i put in 1 pandan leaf and some fenugreek seeds.it really does enhance the aroma even more.as for the chilli sauce,i blended the shallots and the garlic with the chilli paste in a food processor and fry them together as i dont like the texture of limpy shallots.all in all,it is a very good recipe.a must try for all
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: joko
Very good, prefer without the peanuts but some of my guests liked those too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2017
I am a bit lazy and just cooked the rice with coconut The sauce I use sambal from MalaysianFoodSupermarket UK website.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
06 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: thies
Very good. I used Sriracha as Chili paste. Other than that I followed the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes