My Reviews (11)

Malaysian Coconut Chicken Curry

This is the Malaysian take on Indian chicken curry. You may want to start with less water than recommended and add more as you need-depends on how thick you want the sauce.
Reviews (11)


20 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: cassandra
This is an amazing curry. I did use less water - maybe a little more than half the water. I'd recommend that. It's also worth persevering with all the spices-they are the stars here.
 
22 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: FBAGNER
This is the authentic way to make Malaysian chicken curry!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Fell4u
This was great & easy as. I did make some changes using what I did have though. Left out Anise pod, tamarind & curry leaves as don't have. Used regular brown onion instead of shallots. Used garlic & ginger out of jars cos that's what I did have. Only used 1 tblspn curry paste to experiment with flavour. Depends on your paste I expect but 4 would have been unbearable. So test it first. Didn't use as much water but did add some cornstarch to thicken. It was really good though & will definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: VFRICKE
The two cups of water makes the sauce watery. Use much less if you want a thicker sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: NIBLACK1
An absolutely AMAZING dish! I do recommend that you use less water if you desire a thicker sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 May 2008
Reviewed by: DiamondGirl amanecer
I don`t eat chicken but my family say in whole this dish is very good. But I have two remarks. At first, it would be desirable, that sauce was a little bit hotter. At second, the sauce is too liquid. I used 1/2 cups coconut milk and 1 incomplete cup water and the sauce all the same was too liquid.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: VMARTIRES
Amazing. I liked it much better than Indian curry, which uses yogurt instead of the coconut milk. Many of the ingredients were difficult to find (Anise pods and Tamarind Juice...I went to 3 different grocery stores!!). I used anise seeds instead and left out the Tamarind Juice, but it still tasted wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Matthew Perrett
My family thinks this was the best curry we've had yet! I didn't have all the whole spices, so I substituted ground spices in many cases, and I had no tamarind. I also used a whole can of light coconut milk and served over red rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Bandita
I did not care for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: MMORRISON
Great curry - I kept the sauce thick and added fresh mango
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes