My Reviews (86)

Sunday Trifle

This is my version of traditional trifle without using jelly. We used to have this nearly every Sunday for dessert when I was growing up. It includes a fresh custard recipe but you could use supermarket prepared custard or make it with powder.
Reviews (86)


01 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: Jennifer
This trifle was delicious and a big hit with everyone! I have tried trifle with instant pudding this beats it hands down. A note of caution: As a reviewer noted below custart recipe does NOT cover it at all. Be prepared to double or possibly even triple the custard portion of the recipe. It is worth it though. I used ladyfingers which were wonderful. I used strawberry jam and cut up fresh strawberries and bananas and layered it in the trifle. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: CHRISTYN
This was so easy! I wanted to fill my trifle bowl to the top, so I used 2 frozen 1 lb. Sara Lee pound cakes. I spread some of the cubes with raspberry curd and some with good raspberry jam. This added some really cool color contrast. I also made more whipped cream (with a little rum and vanilla) and extra custard (added vanilla there too). My guests adored it as did I!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: 5 OF SEVEN
when i was a lil girl my dad used to make a trifle on highdays and this is what it should taste like its great,thanks dear polly
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: LYNNAKA
i whipped this trifle together for a luncheon with a friend, and we couldn't get enough. Am making it tonight for the family as I didn't have any leftover yesterday!!!!!!!!!!! Was the best best best I ever had, so easy, and once you make it with "custard" as opposed to instant pudding, you'll be a convert!!!!!!1
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: JEN1026
Great recipe! This was my first time making trifle. It is a bit time consuming and recipe needs to be doubled to feed a family. Added vanilla to the custard and to the whipped cream as well. Turned out great and everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: EILISH40
This is real trifle - instant pudding is a big NO NO when it comes to making English trifle. Thanks. I had lost my good custard recipe and I think this one will replace it. Not for those on a diet!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Jeanette
All I can say is WOW. This was my first time making Trifle and this was delish. I did make some changes due to the size of dish I was trying to fill. I used twice as many raspberries and doubled the recipe for the custard. I used this extra to make the trifle with three layers instead of just one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: MAB1066
We made this to take to a personal wine tasting, and the wine we were tasting was Riesling. As you probably know, many Rieslings are very sweet - and this was the perfect complement. The sweetness comes from the cake and fruit, and the cream just emphasizes the fruit flavor. Great recipe!!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: COOKIE12223
Very, very tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Trece33
OMG!!!!!!!!I DID IT!!!!!!!!! I made this for the FIRST TIME last night and TOOK it to CHURCH TODAY for our homecoming luncheon. It looked sooo... pretty and I PRAYED that it tasted as good as it looked!! Well, You know that GOD has ANSWERED your PRAYERS when the PREACHER takes the time out to pat you on the back and say "YOUR DESSERT WAS DELICIOUS!!!" The only tweaks that I made was... DEFINITELY DOUBLE the CUSTARD and WHIPPING CREAM. While cooking on MED-LO I added 2 TBLSP of cornstarch mixed with a little milk to help thicken the custard. I also added 4 TBLSP of sugar to the custard mixture and Whipped Cream. The custard was kind of bland so I added 2 tsp. of vanilla to the custard mixture and whip cream, but it was still missing something so I added 1 tsp of CHAMPAGNE EXTRACT from concentrate and that changed the flavor and made all the difference. So, if you can't find the champagne extract experiment with the flavor of your choice to wake it up a little bit. I used FRESH FRUIT and CRUSHED HEATH TOFFEE CANDY instead of almonds for the garnish. I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE THIS AGAIN!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes